Baku, AZERBAIJAN. Jul 21 - Jul 27
SRB Flag Vesna Dolonc 0 6 2 0
ISR Flag Shahar Peer 0 3 6 0
1

Getting To Know... Julia Boserup

After an injury-ravaged few years, former Orange Bowl winner Julia Boserup is back on tour and starting to make an impression.

Published April 05, 2014 12:11

Getting To Know... Julia Boserup
Julia Boserup

MONTERREY, México - Although her run finally came to an end in Friday's quarterfinals, Julia Boserup did her reputation - and ranking - no harm with her showing at the Monterrey Open.

Boserup first caught the eye when winning the Orange Bowl as teenager and after an injury-ravaged few years now looks set to fulfil her potential in the senior ranks.

After her quarterfinal, wtatennis.com tracked down the 22-year-old to talk about where she came from and where she is heading.

Can you tell us about your hometown and where you grew up?
JB:
I grew up in Los Angeles but now I live in Newport Beach, California. I love living there!

Can you tell us a little bit about your family?
JB:
Both my parents are from Denmark, so I have dual citizenship and speak Danish. The country is very close to my heart, as my whole family lives there and my sister just moved there, so I try to get back as much as I can to visit them. My dad is a mediator arbitrator and my mom used to be, but now she has her hands full with me! My sister is in Copenhagen now where she is an analyst for McKinsey & Company. I also have a half-brother and half-sister, who live in California as well.

How did you start playing tennis?
JB:
I started playing when I was six, when I would tag along with my sister who was playing. I liked it straight away and ever since then I've been playing.

Can you talk about your current coaching setup?
JB:
When I was younger, my first coach was Robert Lansdorp. Growing up, he taught me all my strokes and then when I was 13 I moved to Florida, trained with the USTA there for a few years, and now I'm based at the USTA training center in Carson, California, which is really nice because it's close to home and I can be with my family as well. I work under Leo Azevedo - he's my main coach but they also have loads of other great staff members who help me out as well.

Who were your tennis idols when you were growing up?
JB:
I always looked up to Elena Dementieva, just because we have similar game styles and she was always really classy - she was always my favorite!

What's the best memory of your career to date?
JB:
Probably winning Orange Bowl when I was 17. That was a pretty big moment for me, but hopefully my best moments are to come!

How would you describe your playing style?
JB:
I'm a pretty aggressive player - I like to go for big shots. I'm mostly working on just being aggressive and trying to control the points, and also my movement, my fitness and developing my serve into a weapon.

What sort of off-court training do you do?
JB:
Just the normal - a lot of hours in the gym and working closely with my trainer to keep my body strong and prevent future injuries. The last few years I've had quite a few injuries. I had a back injury that sidelined me for eight months last year and while this was unfortunate I think everything happens for a reason and it gave me some time to spend with my family and reset a little bit, which I was grateful for. Now I'm just happy to be back and healthy.

Who travels with you on tour at the moment?
JB:
Right now, I'm on my own, coaching-wise, on the road, but I'm really lucky that my mom can come with me - we have a great relationship and have a ton of fun on the road.

What's your favorite surface and tournament?
JB:
My favorite surface is hardcourt and my favorite tournament is Indian Wells.

What are your short and long-term goals?
JB:
My short and long-term goals are just to keep improving, stay healthy and just give it everything I have to see how far I can go.

What do you do to relax away from the court?
JB:
In my free time I spend a lot of time doing homework. I go to Penn State University, but I take all my classes online. I'm more than halfway through my bachelor's degree in psychology, which I started about three years ago, and that keeps me pretty busy! I always have in the back of my mind, like, 'Oh, my assignment's due on Sunday night', but I actually like this because it gives me something else to think about when I'm not playing tennis and I also love learning.

What would you be doing if you weren't a tennis player?
JB:
Oh, I'd be a doctor. I don't know what type of doctor, but I've always just kind of wanted to be one!

Share this page!

Related news

  • Twitter Reaction: Germany Vs Argentina

    July 13, 2014
    The stars of the WTA were all about the World Cup final between Germany and Argentina on Sunday - here are some of their tweets from the big day... GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAL!!
  • Errani & Vinci Endure Sixe Match Points

    July 01, 2014
    Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci were given all they could handle by Ukrainian qualifiers Lyudmyla and Nadiya Kichenok before emerging victorious in Wimbledon second round doubles play.
  • Barty & Dellacqua Among Doubles Winners

    June 30, 2014
    Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua were straight set victors over Kimiko Date-Krumm and Barbora Zahlavova Strycova on Monday to reach the third round of Wimbledon.
To The Top
3