Seles Among 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

With nine Grand Slam titles to her name and having spent 178 weeks at No.1, Monica Seles is a worthy appointee to the Tennis Hall of Fame.

Published January 20, 2009 12:00

Seles Among 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees
Monica Seles

NEWPORT, RI, USA - International Tennis Hall of Fame Chairman Christopher Clouser and Hall of Fame President Tony Trabert announced the names of the newly elected members of the International Tennis Hall of Fame recently, with nine-time Grand Slam singles champion Monica Seles leading the list of 2009's new inductees in the Recent Player category. The Induction Ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, July 11 in Newport, Rhode Island, during the final weekend of the Campbell's Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, an ATP World Tour event.

"It is our great pleasure to welcome the newest members into the International Tennis Hall of Fame, and to honor them for their brilliant careers and significant achievements in tennis," Clouser said.

Seles, 35, held onto the world No.1 ranking for a total of 178 weeks and captured nine Grand Slam singles titles throughout her career - four at the Australian Open (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996), two US Opens (1991, 1992) and three French Opens (1990, 1991, 1992), where she still remains the youngest champion ever. Over her 15-year professional career she gained 53 singles titles and six doubles titles and collected well over $14 million in prize money. She additionally won three consecutive Tour Championships titles (1990, 1991, 1992).

Joining Seles on the 2009 list is Spain's Andres Gimeno, industry pioneer Donald Dell and the late Dr. Robert "Whirlwind" Johnson. Gimeno, one of Spain's most prominent tennis players of the 1960s, has been elected in the Master Player category. Dell is an industry pioneer and leader in sports marketing, management and TV, and founder of ProServ; Johnson is founder and director of the American Tennis Association Junior Development Program.

Seles and the rest follow 2008's elected players Mark McCormack, Michael Chang and Eugene Scott. She also joins women's tennis legends Billie Jean King (1987), Martina Navratilova (2000) and Steffi Graf (2004).

The International Tennis Hall of Fame is a non-profit institution dedicated to preserving the history of tennis, inspiring and encouraging junior tennis development, enshrining tennis heroes and heroines and providing a landmark for tennis enthusiasts worldwide. Criteria for the Recent Player category includes: being active as a competitor in the sport within the last 20 years prior to consideration; not being a significant factor on the ATP World Tour or Sony Ericsson WTA Tour within five years prior to induction; a distinguished record of competitive achievement at the highest international level, with consideration given to integrity, sportsmanship and character.

Visit the International Tennis Hall of Fame's website at www.tennisfame.com.

Topics: monica seles
Share this page!

Related news

  • Serena Survives Inspired Ivanovic

    August 01, 2014
    Serena Williams rallied from a first set blowout and survived some tense moments in the third set to beat an in-form Ana Ivanovic at the Bank Of The West Classic.
  • Petkovic Edges Venus In Thriller

    August 01, 2014
    Andrea Petkovic came back from ahead to edge Venus Williams on Quarterfinal Friday at the Bank Of The West Classic. An all-lefty semifinal was set earlier in the day.
  • Semifinals Set In Washington DC

    August 01, 2014
    Kurumi Nara swept past fellow WTA Rising Star Kristina Mladenovic to reach the semifinals of the Citi Open. Two of Russia's four best players also made the cut.
To The Top