HOF for Natasha & Gigi

One of the greatest doubles pairs of all time will be part of the Hall of Fame's 2010 class.

Published March 03, 2010 12:00

HOF for Natasha & Gigi
Natasha Zvereva, Gigi Fernandez

NEWPORT, RI, USA - Christopher Clouser, chairman of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum and Tony Trabert, Hall of Fame President, announced the newly elected Class of 2010 on March 1.

Two powerful doubles teams will be inducted in the Recent Player category with the election of Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde, the legendary Australian doubles team who amassed 61 ATP World Tour titles including 11 Grand Slams; and Gigi Fernandez and Natasha Zvereva, who won 38 Sony Ericsson WTA Tour titles together including 14 Grand Slams. In the Master Player category, 12-time Grand Slam champion Owen Davidson has been elected. In the Contributor category, Brad Parks, the pioneering founder of wheelchair tennis - a game that is now played in nearly 100 countries - will be the first ever wheelchair tennis inductee. Also in the Contributor category, Derek Hardwick, past chairman of the British Lawn Tennis Association who was instrumental in the transition to the Open Era, will be inducted posthumously.

"In recognition of their competitions and contributions, the Class of 2010 is a tribute to the game of doubles and to wheelchair tennis. The Recent Players and Master Player achieved an incredible record of doubles wins. In the Contributor Category, we are pleased to honor individuals who led two important evolutions of the game through the creation of wheelchair tennis and the initiation of the Open Era," Clouser said. "We are delighted to honor these professionals who have truly earned a place in the Hall of Fame."

Fernandez and Zvereva's 14 majors together is the second-most for a team in the Open Era, following Martina Navratilova and Pam Shriver's 20.

The International Tennis Hall of Fame's Class of 2010 Induction Ceremony will be held on Saturday, July 10 in Newport, Rhode Island, during the final weekend of the Campbell's Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, an ATP World Tour event. Tickets for the Class of 2010 Induction Ceremony are available now on www.tennisfame.com or by calling +1.401.849.3990 or +1.866.914.3263.

Inclusive of the Class of 2010, the International Tennis Hall of Fame has honored 218 tennis legends representing 19 different countries.

Share this page!

Related news

  • Radwanska Gets Shot At Revenge

    September 17, 2014
    Agnieszka Radwanska and Varvara Lepchenko set up a quarterfinal clash at the Kia Korea Open. Watch what happened the last time they played each other right here.
  • Ivanovic Overcomes Azarenka In Tokyo

    September 17, 2014
    Ana Ivanovic bounced back from her US Open disappointment with an impressive win over Victoria Azarenka in the second round of the Toray Pan Pacific Open.
  • Cornet Rallies To Make Guangzhou QFs

    September 17, 2014
    Alizé Cornet was down a set and 5-3 against Shahar Peer, but staged a comeback in second round play in Guangzhou. Also, two Chinese players advanced to their first WTA quarterfinals.
To The Top