Peschke & Srebotnik Win Doubles In Doha

Kveta Peschke and Katarina Srebotnik regrouped to beat Liezel Huber and Nadia Petrova in the final.

Published February 26, 2011 12:00

Peschke & Srebotnik Win Doubles In Doha
Katarina Srebotnik, Kveta Peschke

DOHA, Qatar - Kveta Peschke and Katarina Srebotnik won their second WTA doubles title of the year at the Qatar Ladies Open on Saturday, beating Liezel Huber and Nadia Petrova in the final, 75 67(2) 108.

Peschke and Srebotnik, the No.1 seeds, had two match points leading 75 65 when No.2 seeds Huber and Petrova rallied to push the match to a match tie-break; Peschke and Srebotnik fell behind 3-1 but won nine of the next 14 points.

"We're very happy to win our second title of the year," Srebotnik said. "We're also very pleased what we have been working on has shown so consistently in our results this year. We look forward to our upcoming tournaments."

Peschke and Srebotnik won their fourth WTA title together, after wins at Indian Wells and New Haven last year and another title at Auckland earlier this year.

Peschke now has 18 career WTA doubles titles while Srebotnik has 25.

Huber and Petrova were seeking their second WTA title together, having won at Charleston last year. They were also finalists at the US Open, holding match point in the third set before falling to Vania King and Yaroslava Shvedova. Huber is a former doubles No.1; Petrova has been as high as No.3 in doubles.

Share this page!

Related news

  • US Open Contenders: Halep

    August 19, 2014
    Despite falling early in New Haven, it seems inevitable that WTA Rising Star Simona Halep is going to win a Grand Slam soon - can she break through at the US Open?
  • Cincinnati Wednesday: Déjà Vu

    August 13, 2014
    Serena Williams begins her bid to win one of the few big titles to elude her by taking on a familiar foe.
  • Chans & Pliskovas Win Doubles Openers

    August 04, 2014
    The Chan sisters and the Pliskova sisters were victorious in straight sets on Monday to reach the second round of the Rogers Cup.
To The Top