ITF Honors Caroline, Flavia & Gisela

Caroline Wozniacki received her ITF World Champion award at a gala dinner in Paris last night.

Published June 01, 2011 11:16

ITF Honors Caroline, Flavia & Gisela
Caroline Wozniacki; Gisela Dulko, Flavia Pennetta
PARIS, France - The ITF's annual World Champion's Dinner was held at the Pavillon d'Armenonville in the French capital last night, in celebration of the 2010 achievements of the sport's very best. Caroline Wozniacki was honored in the women's singles category, with Gisela Dulko and Flavia Pennetta taking home the doubles prize.

Wozniacki earned her Laurence Broderick-designed trophy for a stellar season in which the young Dane captured a WTA-leading six titles, including the Premier-level China Open (Beijing), Toray Pan Pacific Open (Tokyo), Rogers Cup (Montréal) and Pilot Pen Tennis at Yale (New Haven). She also won the MPS Group Championships (Ponte Vedra Beach) and the e-Boks Sony Ericsson Open in her hometown of Copenhagen. 

At the majors, Wozniacki reached the semifinals at the US Open, the quarterfinals at Roland Garros, and the fourth round at the Australian Open and Wimbledon. She rose to No.1 on October 1, and finished the year with a tour-best 62-17 match win record.

Meantime, while Dulko and Pennetta had won three titles together in previous years, the Argentine-Italian duo really hit their stride in 2010. They reached the quarters at their first Grand Slam together, the Australian Open, and went on to pocket a WTA-leading seven titles for the season, culminating with the WTA Championships at Doha. Dulko duly rose to No.1 in the rankings; Pennetta joined her as co-No.1 after they had won their first major at the 2011 Australian Open, assuming the top spot by herself in April.

Recipients of other awards were men's singles champion Rafael Nadal, and US doubles stars Bob and Mike Bryan; junior champions Daria Gavrilova and Juan Sebastián Gómez; and wheelchair champions Shingo Kunieda and Esther Vergeer, who collected the trophy for a record 11th year.

Former men's world No.4 and current French Davis Cup captain Guy Forget - who was also Fed Cup captain for five years, leading France to the title in 2003 with a team that included Amélie Mauresmo and Mary Pierce - was presented with the ITF's highest accolade, the Philippe Chatrier Award, for his contributions to the sport.

The evening was hosted by British former ATP player Andrew Castle, who is now a television broadcaster, with the awards presented by ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.

Share this page!

Related news

  • Vaidisova Falls In Albuquerque

    September 18, 2014
    Nicole Vaidisova's comeback came to an end at the hands of a rising Brit, but what she showed in Albuquerque should be a warning shot to the tour that a former World No.7 is on the way back...
  • Cornet Solves Hsieh Riddle To Make SFs

    September 18, 2014
    Alizé Cornet overcame the stifling heat and Hsieh Su-Wei's unorthodox game to reach the semifinals of the Guangzhou International Women's Open on Thursday.
  • Radwanska Gets Shot At Revenge

    September 17, 2014
    Agnieszka Radwanska and Varvara Lepchenko set up a quarterfinal clash at the Kia Korea Open. Watch what happened the last time they played each other right here.
To The Top