Stats Corner: Lucie Joins Elite List

Five women in the Open Era have won a doubles tournament at least five consecutive times, the latest being Lucie Hradecka at Bad Gastein.

Published July 17, 2011 09:56

Stats Corner: Lucie Joins Elite List
Lucie Hradecka, Eva Birnerova

Eva Birnerova and Lucie Hradecka had a dramatic victory in Sunday's NÜRNBERGER Gastein Ladies final, winning three straight points in the match tie-break after being down a match point at 9-10 in their 46 62 1210 defeat of Jarmila Gajdosova and Julia Goerges. It was just the Czechs' second WTA event as a duo, having reached the quarters last week in Budapest.

Birnerova now has two career doubles titles to her name, while Hradecka has 11, including this year's French Open alongside Andrea Hlavackova. "I'm a little bit more sure of myself," Hradecka said of the effect her first major had on her game. "When you win a big tournament, it's great experience that can benefit you on the court."

Five of Hradecka's doubles titles have come in Bad Gastein, where she is undefeated alongside four partners since the event's inception in 2007. There have only been four other women in the Open Era who have won the same event at least five straight times, two of them having done so at multiple events. Here is the complete list:

Player Event Titles In Row Years
Martina Navratilova Australian Open 7 '82-'85, '87-'89
Pam Shriver Australian Open 7 '82-'85, '87-'89
Martina Navratilova Eastbourne 6 '81-'86
Martina Navratilova WTA Championships 6 '80-'85
Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario Barcelona 6 '90-'95
Pam Shriver Eastbourne 6 '81-'86
Gigi Fernandez French Open 5 '91-'95
Lucie Hradecka Bad Gastein 5 '07-'11
Martina Navratilova French Open 5 '84-'88
Pam Shriver WTA Championships 5 '81-'85

Notes: The above list does not include those who won an event at least five straight times, but they skipped playing it certain years in between victories … Francoise Durr won five straight French Opens from 1967-1976, but the first of those five occurred before the start of the Open Era … Navratilova and Shriver's seven straight Australian Opens included years before and after 1986, but there was no Australian Open held in 1986.

Meanwhile, in Sunday's Palermo final, top-seeded Italians Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci beat Hlavackova and Klara Zakopalova, 75 61, for their third title together this year and fifth of their career. They each now have eight doubles titles as individuals.

Share this page!

Related news

  • Beijing Wednesday: Singapore In Sight

    September 30, 2014
    Caroline Wozniacki opens her Beijing campaign that she hopes will result in her clinching a spot in Singapore. Fellow Singapore hopeful Angelique Kerber plays her third round match.
  • Beijing Tuesday: Revenge On Her Mind?

    September 29, 2014
    Venus Williams only had a week to wait for another shot at second round Beijing foe Caroline Garcia, who knocked her out of Wuhan.
  • Kvitova Serves Up Wuhan Title

    September 27, 2014
    In a match where the winner would qualify for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, Petra Kvitova rose to the occasion in a big, big way.
To The Top