Field Announced For Olympic Tennis Event

The 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams playing at the Olympic Tennis Event are official.

Published June 26, 2012 12:00

Field Announced For Olympic Tennis Event
Venus Williams

LONDON, England - The much-anticipated entry list for the Olympic Tennis Event was released by the ITF on Tuesday, naming the 64 players and 32 doubles teams who will go for gold from July 28 to August 5 in London.

Australia: Samantha Stosur
Belarus: Victoria Azarenka
Belgium: Yanina Wickmayer, Kim Clijsters
Bulgaria: Tsvetana Pironkova
Canada: Aleksandra Wozniak
China: Li Na, Peng Shuai, Zheng Jie
Chinese Taipei: Hsieh Su-Wei
Croatia: Petra Martic
Czech Republic: Petra Kvitova, Lucie Safarova, Petra Cetkovska, Klara Zakopalova
Denmark: Caroline Wozniacki
Estonia: Kaia Kanepi
France: Alizé Cornet (*)
Georgia: Anna Tatishvili (*)
Germany: Angelique Kerber, Sabine Lisicki, Andrea Petkovic, Julia Goerges
Great Britain: Anne Keothavong (*), Elena Baltacha (*)
Hungary: Agnes Szavay
Israel: Shahar Peer
Italy: Sara Errani, Flavia Pennetta, Roberta Vinci, Francesca Schiavone
Kazakhstan: Galina Voskoboeva, Yaroslava Shvedova
Liechtenstein: Stephanie Vogt (#)
New Zealand: Marina Erakovic
Paraguay: Veronica Cepede Royg (#)
Poland: Agnieszka Radwanska, Urszula Radwanska
Romania: Monica Niculescu, Simona Halep, Sorana Cirstea, Irina-Camelia Begu
Russia: Maria Sharapova, Vera Zvonareva, Maria Kirilenko, Nadia Petrova
Serbia: Ana Ivanovic, Jelena Jankovic
Slovakia: Dominika Cibulkova, Daniela Hantuchova
Slovenia: Polona Hercog
Spain: Anabel Medina Garrigues, Carla Suárez Navarro, María José Martínez Sánchez, Sílvia Soler-Espinosa
Sweden: Sofia Arvidsson
Switzerland: Timea Bacsinszky
Tunisia: Ons Jabeur (*)
Ukraine: Alona Bondarenko, Kateryna Bondarenko (*)
USA: Serena Williams, Christina McHale, Venus Williams, Varvara Lepchenko

Argentina: Dulko/Suárez
Australia: Gajdosova/Rodionova, Dellacqua/Stosur
Canada: Dubois/Wozniak (*)
China: Peng/Zheng, Li/Zhang
Chinese Taipei: Chuang/Hsieh (*)
Czech Republic: Hlavackova/Hradecka, Cetkovska/Safarova
France: Cornet/Mladenovic (*)
Georgia: Chakhnashvili/Tatishvili (*)
Germany: Kerber/Lisicki, Goerges/Petkovic
Great Britain: Robson/Watson (*)
Hungary: Babos/Szavay (*)
India: Chakravarthi/Mirza (*)
Italy: Errani/Vinci, Pennetta/Schiavone
Kazakhstan: Shvedova/Voskoboeva
Poland: Radwanska/Radwanska, Jans-Ignacik/Rosolska
Romania: Begu/Niculescu, Cirstea/Halep
Russia: Kirilenko/Petrova, Makarova/Vesnina
Slovakia: Cibulkova/Hantuchova
Slovenia: Klepac/Srebotnik
Spain: Llagostera Vives/Martínez Sánchez, Medina Garrigues/Parra Santonja
Ukraine: Bondarenko/Bondarenko (*)
USA: Huber/Raymond, Williams/Williams

(*) ITF Place
(#) Tripartite Commission Invitation Place

Of the 64 singles spots, 56 are direct acceptances, six are ITF Places and two are Tripartite Commission Invitation Places. They must also have received a nomination from their National Olympic Committee and meet the qualification criteria by the ITF and approved by the International Olympic Committee.

Direct acceptances were based on the June 11 rankings, with a limit of four singles players per country. Nations were also able to nominate up to two doubles teams per event, with a maximum of six players per country in total.

Of the 32 doubles teams, 24 were direct and eight were ITF Places. Direct were based on combined rankings of each team on June 11, with each player using the better of their singles and doubles rankings. Any player ranked in the doubles Top 10 on June 11 was eligible for direct acceptance with anyone.

Mixed doubles will be included for the first time since 1924. Entries for the 16-team event will be determined on site from those players already participating in singles or doubles. Teams have to be nominated by their National Olympic Committee by July 31. There will be 12 direct acceptances based on the combined world rankings of each team on June 11, and four ITF Places.

Timea Bacsinszky is included in the direct acceptance list having qualified under the ITF's entry criteria, approved by the International Olympic Committee. However her entry has not yet been confirmed by the Swiss Olympic Committee. The ITF believes that all qualified players should be allowed to compete in the Olympic Games, and will continue to do everything in its power to convince the Swiss Olympic Committee to respect the ITF's qualification criteria and enter Bacsinszky into the 2012 Olympic Tennis Event.

The ITF Olympic Committee determined Tamira Paszek is ineligible to play, having not met the minimum participation requirements in Fed Cup.

Share this page!

Related news

  • Rogers & Jurak Capture Mylan WTT Trophy

    August 27, 2016
    WTA Insider David Kane | Shelby Rogers and Darija Jurak led the San Diego Aviators to their first Billie Jean King Trophy to conclude the 2016 season of Mylan World TeamTennis.
  • Insider Draw Analysis: US Open

    August 26, 2016
    WTA Insider Courtney Nguyen | What are the biggest storylines to come out of a packed US Open draw? Get the full breakdown right here on wtatennis.com.
  • Serena Sets Aside Summer Struggles

    August 26, 2016
    WTA Insider David Kane | World No.1 Serena Williams discussed her recovery from a shoulder injury as she aims for a record-breaking 23rd Grand Slam title at the US Open.
To The Top