Stats Corner: The Paris-Paris Double

Paris is the only city that currently hosts two WTA-level events, with the Open GDF SUEZ in February and the French Open in May and June. Has anyone ever won both in the same year?

Published February 05, 2014 12:11

Stats Corner: The Paris-Paris Double
Steffi Graf

Paris is the only city that currently hosts two WTA-level events, with the Open GDF SUEZ on indoor hardcourts in February and the French Open on outdoor clay in May and June. So does a triumph at the first Paris stop usually result in success at the second?

Well, the results are mixed, with only one player achieving the Paris-Paris double - who is it? And how will Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova fare at Roland Garros this year? Here are all the Open GDF SUEZ champs' Roland Garros results since the inception of the indoor event in 1993:

Year Paris Champ French Open Result
1993 Navratilova DNP
1994 Navratilova 1r
1995 Graf W
1996 Halard-Decugis 2r
1997 Hingis R-Up
1998 Pierce 2r
1999 S.Williams 3r
2000 Tauziat 3r
2001 Mauresmo 1r
2002 V.Williams R-Up
2003 S.Williams SF
2004 Clijsters DNP
2005 Safina 1r
2006 Mauresmo 4r
2007 Petrova 1r
2008 Chakvetadze 2r
2009 Mauresmo 1r
2010 Dementieva SF
2011 Kvitova 4r
2012 Kerber QF
2013 Barthel 1r
2014 Pavlyuchenkova ?


Share this page!

Related news

  • How SAP Tennis Analytics Goes Beyond On-Court Coaching

    September 23, 2016
    SAP Tennis Analytics for Coaches powered by SAP HANA goes beyond the on-court coaching breaks to provide Angelique Kerber and her team with real-time insights throughout the season.
  • Wozniacki Prevails In Tokyo Marathon

    September 21, 2016
    Former champion Caroline Wozniacki required nearly three hours to see off No.4 seed Carla Suárez Navarro in the second round of the Toray Pan Pacific Open on Wednesday.
  • Cibulkova, Kvitova Move Into 2nd Round In Tokyo

    September 20, 2016
    Dominika Cibulkova came back from a set down against Lucie Safarova to move into the second round at the Toray Pan Pacific Open, where she'll face Naomi Osaka. 2013 champion Petra Kvitova also advanced.
To The Top