Miami, USA. Mar 21 - Apr 02
CZE Flag Barbora Strycova 0 4 6 4
SWE Flag Johanna Larsson 0 6 3 5

Vote: January's WTA Player Of The Month

Cast your vote now for January's WTA Player of the Month - Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Karolina Pliskova, or Johanna Konta?

Published January 31, 2017 12:10


Embedded code:

It's time to vote for January's WTA Player of the Month!

Have a look at the nominees and cast your vote before Thursday at 11:59pm ET! The winner will be announced Friday, February 3.

January 2017 WTA Player Of The Month Finalists

Serena Williams: Serena's historic month came to its dizzying peak as she held aloft the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Trophy after defeating sister Venus in straight sets to win the Australian Open. It was not only her seventh title Down Under, but also her 23rd overall, earning her the sole holder of the Open Era record she previously shared with Stefanie Graf. The win also returned Serena to No.1 on the WTA rankings and the Road to Singapore leaderboard.

Venus Williams: Not to be outdone, Venus served a bit of history herself, reaching her first major final since 2009 in Melbourne. It was her first Australian Open final in 14 years, and the American dropped just one set through six matches. Despite losing to Serena in the championship match, the elder of the Williamses still found herself at No.2 on the RTS leaderboard.

Karolina Pliskova: Pliskova began the year with a bang, winning the Brisbane International and roaring into her second straight Grand Slam quarterfinal. The Czech powerhouse won her first nine matches of the season and rose up to a career-high ranking of No.3.

Johanna Konta: The Brit also served notice to start 2017, winning her second career title at the Apia International Sydney. Under immense ranking pressure in Australia, Konta held her nerve to return to the quarterfinals. 


2016 Winners

January: Angelique Kerber
February: Carla Suárez Navarro

March: Victoria Azarenka

April: Angelique Kerber

May: Garbiñe Muguruza

June: Serena Williams

July: Simona Halep

August: Monica Puig

September: Petra Kvitova

October: Dominika Cibulkova

How it works:

Finalists are selected by wtatennis.com
Winner is then determined by a fan vote on wtatennis.com

Share this page!

Related news

To The Top