Victoria Azarenka will be the latest two-time defending Australian Open champion trying to make it three straight. How have the others fared?
WTA Staff

MELBOURNE, Australia - Victoria Azarenka will be going for her third straight Australian Open title when the year's first Grand Slam gets underway next week. A victory would make her the first player to win three Australian Open titles in a row since Martina Hingis did so from 1997 to 1999 and the first to do so at any Grand Slam since Justine Henin at the French Open from 2005 to 2007.

How have the previous Open Era two-time defending Australian Open champs done in their quest for a third straight crown Down Under? Quite well, for the most part. Check out their results below:

PlayerConsecutive TitlesNext Year's Result
Margaret Court'69-'70W
Evonne Goolagong Cawley'74-'75W
Evonne Goolagong Cawley'75-'76W (Dec. staging)
Evonne Goolagong Cawley'76-'77DNP
Steffi Graf'88-'89W
Steffi Graf'89-'90SF
Monica Seles'91-'92W
Monica Seles'92-'93DNP
Martina Hingis'97-'98W
Martina Hingis'98-'99R-Up
Jennifer Capriati'01-'021r
Serena Williams'09-'10DNP