We're just days away from the start of the 11th annual Emirates Airline US Open Series. Who won the first 10? Where are the top players playing this year? Read on!
WTA Staff

The Emirates Airline US Open Series, which links together the four Premier-level summer hardcourt tournaments in North America to the US Open, is just a few days from kicking off in Stanford.

They're all chapters in the same story - as each tournament goes by another WTA star gets their time to shine and build momentum towards the big one, the US Open, the last Grand Slam of the year.

The four events in the series are the Bank Of The West Classic in Stanford, the Rogers Cup in Montréal, the Western & Southern Open in Cincinnati and the Connecticut Open in New Haven. And these events plus the US Open are a big opportunity to accumulate points on the Road To Singapore leaderboard, the journey to the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global.

And there's more. Players earn bonus points based on their performance at each event, and the top three finishers earn bonus prize money at the US Open. The top finisher will get a $1 million bonus if they win the US Open, a formula that put Serena Williams in the history books in 2013 - by finishing first in the Emirates Airline US Open Series and winning the US Open, she got the biggest paycheque in tennis history - $3.6 million ($2.6 million for winning the US Open plus the $1 million bonus).

Here are the first 10 Emirates Airline US Open Series winners and their US Open result:
2004 - Lindsay Davenport (SFs at US Open)
2005 - Kim Clijsters (Won US Open)
2006 - Ana Ivanovic (third round at US Open)
2007 - Maria Sharapova (third round at US Open)
2008 - Dinara Safina (SFs at US Open)
2009 - Elena Dementieva (second round at US Open)
2010 - Caroline Wozniacki (SFs at US Open)
2011 - Serena Williams (R-Up at US Open)
2012 - Petra Kvitova (fourth round at US Open)
2013 - Serena Williams (Won US Open)

And here's where the Top 25 are scheduled to play in the Emirates Airline US Open Series:
1. Serena Williams: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
2. Li Na: Montréal, Cincinnati
3. Simona Halep: Cincinnati, New Haven
4. Petra Kvitova: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
5. Agnieszka Radwanska: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
6. Maria Sharapova: Montréal, Cincinnati
7. Eugenie Bouchard: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
8. Angelique Kerber: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
9. Jelena Jankovic: Montréal, Cincinnati
10. Victoria Azarenka: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
11. Ana Ivanovic: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
12. Dominika Cibulkova: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
13. Caroline Wozniacki: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
14. Flavia Pennetta: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
15. Sara Errani: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
16. Carla Suárez Navarro: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
17. Lucie Safarova: Washington DC**, Montréal, Cincinnati
18. Andrea Petkovic: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
19. Samantha Stosur: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati
20. Ekaterina Makarova: Washington DC**, Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
21. Alizé Cornet: Washington DC**, Montréal, Cincinnati
22. Sloane Stephens: Washington DC**, Montréal, Cincinnati
23. Roberta Vinci: Montréal, Cincinnati, New Haven
24. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova: Washington DC**, Montréal, Cincinnati
25. Venus Williams: Stanford, Montréal, Cincinnati

** the Citi Open in Washington DC is not a part of the Emirates Airline US Open Series.