Johanna Konta's best season to date has been recognized by her peers, who overwhelmingly voted for year to receive the Most Improved Player Of The Year award
WTA Staff

SINGAPORE - Johanna Konta has been overwhelmingly voted as 2016 WTA Most Improved Player Of The Year.

Konta has enjoyed her best season to date, starting at the Australian Open, where she became the first British woman to reach a Grand Slam semifinal since Jo Durie in 1983. She went on to match Durie in ranking as well as result, finally ending the drought of British women in the Top 10 after reaching the final of the China Open, a Premier Mandatory event.

In between, Konta captured her first WTA title at the Bank of the West Classic, stunning former No.1 and Stanford champion Venus Williams in three scintillating sets. In 10 matches against Top 10 players, Konta won six encounters, and also has a 12-2 record in tie-breaks - the second best on the tour this season.

Her achievements have not gone unnoticed and she received 40 votes, ahead of Monica Puig with five, Kiki Bertens with three and Laura Siegemund with one.

WTA Most Improved Player Winners
2016: Johanna Konta
2015: Timea Bacsinszky
2014: Eugenie Bouchard
2013: Simona Halep
2012: Sara Errani
2011: Petra Kvitova
Francesca Schiavone
Yanina Wickmayer
Dinara Safina
Ana Ivanovic
Jelena Jankovic
Ana Ivanovic

Complete listing of the historical WTA Awards.