We've got six heartwarming stories among the nominees for 2014's WTA Comeback Player Of The Year - read up on those stories here and decide who you'll vote for!
WTA Staff

The finalists for the 2014 WTA Comeback Player Of The Year have been released, and for the first time ever, you the fans can vote. The fan vote will count as one of the coveted media votes.

Have a look at the finalists and cast your vote before Tuesday at 11:59pm ET! The winner will be announced Wednesday, November 19.

2014 WTA Comeback Player Of The Year Finalists

Maria Sharapova: Sharapova missed the end of 2013 following a recurrence of her shoulder troubles and took a little while to find her stride on her return. After a couple of near misses in Indian Wells and Miami, the Russian finally got her hands on some silverware as the tour returned to Europe for the clay court season, where she triumphed at three of the four events she contested on the surface, highlighted by a fifth major, at Roland Garros. Although she struggled to replicate this form at the year's last two majors Sharapova finished the year in style, derailing the in-form Petra Kvitova to lift the Beijing title.

Garbiñe MuguruzaThere was never any doubt regarding Muguruza's potential. However, few were expecting her return to form following a serious ankle injury to be quite so immediate. She began the year by picking up her maiden career title (Hobart) and never slowed down. At the French Open, she announced herself to the wider sporting world, dispatching Serena Williams on her way to the quarterfinals. Further reputation-enhancing performances in Florianopolis, Marrakech, Tokyo and Sofia ensured her star continued to shine brightly and a year-end ranking inside the Top 20.

Timea Bacsinszky: In 2014, Bacsinszky finally put her recent injury woes behind her to earn a place among the tennis elite once more. Having been exiled on the ITF Circuit for much of the previous few years, the Swiss returned to the top tier in style, semi and quarterfinal showings in Guangzhou and Wuhan highlighting a remarkably consistent year.

Jarmila Gajdosova: Glandular fever wrecked Gajdosova's 2013 campaign and sent her tumbling out of the Top 200. Success on her return was not instant, but the Australian was not deterred, slowly but steadily making her way back up the rankings. The breakthrough came at the traditional pre-Wimbledon ITF Circuit event in Nottingham, where Gajdosova won eight matches, the title and a wildcard for Wimbledon. Further success was to follow in the summer before she finished the season in style, with impressive showings in Hong Kong, Tokyo and Wuhan.

Mirjana Lucic-Baroni: While Serena Williams took home the title, the feel-good story of this year's US Open belonged to somebody else: Lucic-Baroni. Having spent several years in the tennis wilderness, the former teenage star catapulted herself back into the public consciousness when she stunned Simona Halep en route to the last 16 at the US Open. A few weeks later she proved this to be no last hurrah, ending a 16-year title drought with victory over Venus Williams in Québec City.

Heather Watson: By her own admission, Watson came back too soon after being laid low by glandular fever in the first half of 2013. But this season, she has returned a more mature and dangerous player, and the results have followed. A confidence-boosting spell on the ITF Circuit laid the foundations for a stellar summer, deep runs in Eastbourne and Montréal helping her finish the year inside the Top 50.

2014 Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

WTA Comeback Player of the Year Winners

2013: Alisa Kleybanova
2012: Yaroslava Shvedova
2011: Sabine Lisicki 
2010: Justine Henin 
2009: Kim Clijsters 
2008: Zheng Jie 
2007: Lindsay Davenport 
2006: Martina Hingis 
2005: Kim Clijsters 
2004: Serena Williams

Click here to see all the WTA Comeback Player of the Year Winners

How it works:

Finalists are selected on wtatennis.com

Comeback Player of the Year criteria includes a player who missed significant time due to an injury (approximately 3-6 months) and current season's results have helped restore ranking

Winner is then determined by a media vote with a fan vote counting as one media vote