Ekaterina Alexandrova takes part in her second final of the year, having previously lost to Viktoria Kuzmova in Budapest in June.

The only previous meeting of Sunday's Linz finalists went the way of Camila Giorgi, the 26-year-old winning in three sets in Katowice in 2016.

Camila Giorgi has dropped one set en route to the final - the Italian taken the distance by Margarita Gasparyan in the last eight - while Ekaterina Alexandrova has been taken to three sets twice, by Johanna Larsson in the second round and again by Andrea Petkovic in the last four.

Ekaterina Alexandrova's only previous WTA title came in the 125k event at Limoges in 2015, where she beat Caroline Garcia.

This year's final is the second time Camila Giorgi has made the Linz showpiece, the Italian also taking part in the 2014 final - where she lost to Karolina Pliskova in three sets.

Camila Giorgi hopes to add to her one previous WTA title, which she won in 's-Hertogenbosch in 2016 after beating Belinda Bencic.

There have been three Russian winners of the tournament in the last 13 years, Ekaterina Alexandrova hoping to replicate the achievements of compatriots Nadia Petrova (2005), Maria Sharapova (2006) and Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (2015). Camila Giorgi would be the first Italian victor.

The tournament also saw Russian finalists in 2003 (Nadia Petrova), 2004 (Elena Bovina), 2006 (Petrova again) and 2008 (Vera Zvonareva). Camila Giorgi remains the only Italian to make the final.

Camila Giorgi is playing in her first WTA final of 2018, having previously made the last four in Tokyo, Prague and Sydney. 



Play starts at 2pm

E Alexandrova (RUS) v [5] C Giorgi (ITA) 

After trophy ceremony
[1] R Atawo (USA) / A Groenefeld (GER) v [3] K Flipkens (BEL) / J Larsson (SWE)