Everything you need to know ahead of the opening day of the WTA Auckland Open, with Kirsten Flipkens, Donna Vekic and Nao Hibino among those in action in New Zealand.
WTA Staff
December 31, 2017

Play starts at 10am, except Court 2, which starts at 10.30am


Jana Fett (CRO) v Miyu Kato (JPN)

Not before 12.30pm
Petra Martic (CRO) v Marketa Vondrousova (CZE)

Donna Vekic (CRO) [8] v Kirsten Flipkens (BEL)

Arantxa Rus (NED) / Sílvia Soler-Espinosa (ESP) v Paige Mary Hourigan (NZL) / Erin Routliffe (NZL)

Not before 7pm    
Monica Puig (PUR) v Julia Goerges (GER) [2]

Christina Mchale (USA) v Taylor Townsend (USA)


Viktoria Kuzmova (SVK) v Arantxa Rus (NED)

Not before 12.30pm    
Nao Hibino (JPN) v Su-Wei Hsieh (TPE)

Polona Hercog (SLO) v Alison Van Uytvanck (BEL)

Veronica Cepede Royg (PAR) v Lara Arruabarrena (ESP)

[Possible court change]
Shu-Ying Hsieh (TPE) / Jade Lewis (NZL) v Nao Hibino (JPN) / Darija Jurak (CRO) [2]


Ysaline Bonaventure (BEL) v Arina Rodionova (AUS)

Deborah Chiesa (ITA) v Sachia Vickery (USA)

Not before 1pm
Asia Muhammad (USA) / Barbora Stefkova (CZE) v Sara Errani (ITA) / Bibiane Schoofs (NED )

Kaitlyn Christian (USA) / Sofia Kenin (USA) v Ysaline Bonaventure (BEL) / Viktorija Golubic (SUI)


Monica Puig has won all four of her previous meetings with Julia Goerges, the most recent success coming in Mallorca in 2016.

Kirsten Flipkens has won all four of her previous meetings with Donna Vekic, the most recent success coming in Istanbul in 2016.

The last three Auckland Opens have been won by Americans - Venus Williams, Sloane Stephens and Lauren Davis prevailing in consecutive years.