The 2017 Australian Open will boast the highest prize money total in Grand Slam history, with the champion set to receive $3.7 million dollars with the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Trophy.
WTA Staff

MELBOURNE, Australia - The Australian Open has increased prize money to an historic high of $50 million, up 14% on 2016.  Men and women singles winners will each get $3.7m while a first-round loser will receive $50,000.

"We are committed to further improving the pay and conditions on the international tennis tour to ensure every professional tennis player is properly compensated," said Australian Open Tournament Director CEO Craig Tiley.

"It was especially important for us to increase the compensation for players in the early rounds and qualifying, and this year we have made some real gains. We are constantly reviewing ways to improve the life of every player on tour, not just the Top 100. This includes increasing prize money as well as removing as many costs as possible associated with playing our events.

"Our aim is to shift the break-even point for professional players, to ensure that tennis is a viable career option for the best male and female athletes in the world. We are also committed to equal prize money, equal exposure and equal opportunity for men and women.

"We are proud of our record in looking after the players, and will continue the push for increased prize money for professional players."

The tournament's prize money has more than tripled since 2001, when it was $13.9m, with a $10 million increase since 2014.

2016 Year-End World No.1 Angelique Kerber is the defending champion, having defeated then-No.1 Serena Williams in a thrilling three-set final Down Under. 

Round-by-round individual prize money for the Australian Open singles tournaments are as follows:

Men's and Women's Main Draw Singles









Round 4


Round 3


Round 2


Round 1


Men's and Women's Qualifying Singles

Round 3


Round 2


Round 1