Kiki Bertens and Johanna Larsson are the final doubles team to qualify for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals presented by SC Global.
WTA Staff
October 19, 2017

ST PETERSBURG, FL, USA – The Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) announced today that the doubles team of Kiki Bertens and Johanna Larsson have qualified for the 2017 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global. The pair becomes the eighth and final team to qualify for the year-end event staged at the Singapore Sports Hub set to take place from October 22-29.

Bertens, from the Netherlands, and Larsson, of Sweden, will make their debut appearance at the WTA Finals, joining Martina Hingis/Chan Yung-Jan, defending champions Ekaterina Makarova/Elena Vesnina, Ashleigh Barty/Casey Dellacqua, Timea Babos/Andrea Hlavackova, Anna-Lena Groenefeld/Kveta Peschke, Gabriela Dabrowski/Xu Yifan and Andreja Klepac/María José Martínez Sánchez in Singapore.

This season, Bertens/Larsson hold a 4-0 record in finals, clinching titles at the season opening ASB Classic (Auckland), Ladies Championship Gstaad, KEB Hana Bank Incheon Airport Korea Open (Seoul) and Upper Austria Ladies Linz. In Grand Slam play, they reached the round of 16 at Roland Garros and US Open. 

Kristina Mladenovic and Svetlana Kuznetsova will serve as the two singles alternates at the WTA Finals in Singapore (due to a foot injury, Johanna Konta is unable to compete). Mladenovic earned her career first WTA singles title earlier this year at the St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy and reached an additional three finals at Abierto Mexicano TELCEL presentado por HSPC (Acapulco), Porsche Tennis Grand Prix (Stuttgart) and the Mutua Madrid Open. Kuznetsova’s season is highlighted by a runner-up finish at the WTA Premier Mandatory event BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells), as well as a quarterfinal run at Wimbledon.

The 2017 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global is an eight-day tennis festival featuring the world’s best players vying for US$7 million in prize money and two of the most prestigious titles in women’s tennis. The Top 8 singles players will compete in a round-robin format with the winner taking home the Billie Jean King Trophy. The Top 8 doubles teams will compete in a knock-out format for the Martina Navratilova Trophy.

The Porsche Race to Singapore Leaderboard is updated each Monday (every two weeks during Grand Slams events) and can be found at 

Tickets to the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global are on sale at, an immersive one-stop destination for all things tournament-related, bringing fans the latest news from the top players on their journey on the Porsche Race to Singapore.