Anna Karolina Schmiedlova faces fifth seed Lara Arruabarrena in Sunday's Claro Open Colsanitas final.
WTA Staff
April 15, 2018


Play starts at 9.30am


Mariana Duque-Mariño (COL) / Nadia Podoroska (ARG) v Dalila Jakupovic (SLO) / Irina Khromacheva (RUS) [2] 

Not before noon
Anna Karolina Schmiedlova (SVK) v Lara Arruabarrena (ESP) [5]


Anna Karolina Schmiedlova won the only previous meeting with Lara Arruabarrena, besting the Spaniard in straight sets at Indian Wells in 2014.

Both singles finalists have beaten a seed en route to Sunday's showpiece, Anna Karolina Schmiedlova making it past seventh seed Ana Bogdan in the semifinal while Lara Arruabarrena beat Johanna Larsson, seeded third, in the quarterfinal.

Lara Arruabarrena has not dropped a set on her way to the final this week, while Anna Karolina Schmiedlova has lost one - the second set, to love, against Irina Falconi in round one.

Lara Arruabarrena is in the Bogotá final for a third time, having won the event in 2012, against Alexandra Panova, and lost last year, against Francesca Schiavone.

Both singles finalists are hoping to win their third career WTA singles title on Sunday. Lara Arruabarrena won the Bogotá title in 2012 and the Korea Open in Seoul in 2016, while Anna Karolina Schmiedlova won a pair of titles in 2015 - the Katowice Open and, three months later, the Bucharest Open.

The singles title in Bogotá was won by a Spaniard five times in six years between 2006 and 2012, while the country also provided the losing finalist in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2016 and 2017.