2017 champion Karolina Pliskova seeks to regain her Brisbane International title against Lesia Tsurenko in Sunday's final. Scroll down for full order of play.
Alex Macpherson
January 5, 2019


Karolina Pliskova and Lesia Tsurenko have been playing each other since 2009, alternating victories over five encounters with the Czech currently leading 3-2. At ITF level, Pliskova won their first meeting in the 2009 Brno 25K quarterfinals 6-2, 5-7, 7-6(4); Tsurenko avenged the loss in the final of the 2011 Bratislava 25K final 7-5, 6-3, before Pliskova won again in the 2012 Ismaning 75K quarterfinals 6-4, 6-3. Tsurenko captured their first WTA-level meeting 6-2, 6-2 in the 2015 New Haven quarterfinals - their only previous outdoor hard court encounter - but Pliskova was the victor in their most recent match, 7-6(5), 2-6, 6-2 in the first round of Madrid in 2017.

2017 winner Karolina Pliskova is bidding to become the third two-time Brisbane champion in the tournament's history, following Serena Williams (2013-14) and Victoria Azarenka (2009, 2016). The 26-year-old has now reached a WTA final in seven consecutive seasons, and a win would garner her 12th career title.

Lesia Tsurenko will compete in her fifth career final, and first at Premier level. Thus far, the Ukrainian has a perfect 4-0 record in finals.

Karolina Pliskova is 11-11 in career finals overall, but has won five of her last six, with the only loss coming to Caroline Garcia in Tianjin last October.

Brisbane holds fond memories for Lesia Tsurenko: it was the site of her maiden WTA semifinal in 2013, when she reached the last four as a Lucky Loser.

This is the fourth consecutive year in which the Brisbane final has paired a seeded player against unseeded opposition. In 2017 and 2018, the seed won, with No.3 Pliskova defeating Alizé Cornet and No.3 Elina Svitolina defeating Aliaksandra Sasnovich respectively; in 2016, the unseeded Victoria Azarenka beat No.4 Angelique Kerber for the title.

ORDER OF PLAY (starts 3pm)

After 1 ATP match, not before 5pm
Karolina PLISKOVA (CZE) [5] vs Lesia TSURENKO (UKR)