The Mutua Madrid Open has announced a stellar lineup for its 2019 edition in May, featuring defending champion Petra Kvitova, World No.1 Naomi Osaka, two-time winner Simona Halep and home favorites Garbiñe Muguruza and Carla Suárez Navarro.
WTA Staff
March 27, 2019

MADRID, Spain - World No.1 Naomi Osaka, three-time champion Petra Kvitova and two-time champion Simona Halep are among the top names slated to feature in this year's Mutua Madrid Open, the tournament announced today.

Kvitova will be bidding to make history with an unprecedented fourth title in the Caja Mágica, having lifted the trophy in 2011, 2015 and 2018, defeating Kiki Bertens in a three-set thriller in last year's final. Halep also has a strong history in the Spanish capital, having won back-to-back titles here in 2015 and 2016, as well as finishing runner-up to Maria Sharapova in 2014.

By contrast, Osaka will be seeking her maiden main draw win in Madrid in her third appearance at the tournament: on her 2016 debut, the Japanese player defeated Zheng Saisai but was forced to retire against Alison Riske in qualifying, and last year she was eliminated by Zhang Shuai in the first round.

Meanwhile, former World No.1 Garbiñe Muguruza and former World No.6 Carla Suárez Navarro will keep the Spanish flag flying. Suárez Navarro has scored three Top 10 wins in front of her home crowd over the years - Samantha Stosur in 2013, Ana Ivanovic in 2015 and Elina Svitolina last year - and has made the last eight twice, in 2015 and 2018. Muguruza, however, is yet to progress beyond the third round in seven previous appearances.

In addition, the Madrid field will include former World No.1s Angelique Kerber, Caroline Wozniacki, Venus Williams and Maria Sharapova; WTA Finals champion Elina Svitolina; Roland Garros finalist Sloane Stephens; and former Roland Garros champion Jelena Ostapenko.