Dominika Cibulkova adds her name to the star-studded 2017 Connecticut Open player field, which also features defending champion Agnieszka Radwanska and three-time champion Petra Kvitova.
WTA Staff

NEW HAVEN, CT, USA – Dominika Cibulkova will join defending champion Agnieszka Radwanska and two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova – along with a host of in-form WTA stars at the Connecticut Open this year, the tournament announced today.

Staged a week before the US Open, the New Haven event’s player field is always stacked, and this year’s edition is no different. Of the 20 players confirmed, 10 have won at least one WTA singles title this year, two are former Grand Slam champions, and three past WTA Finals champions.

“We are delighted that our field contains so many players in outstanding form,” said tournament director Anne Worcester. “Half of our players have already won a title this year, which shows the rich depth in women’s tennis right now.

“Add that emerging talent to established Grand Slam champions like Petra Kvitova and Sam Stosur, plus Domi Cibulkova and our defending champion Aga Radwanska and we have an extremely exciting and competitive field. We will also aim to add two more big names in the next month with our additional Top 20 wild cards.”

Worcester also confirmed wildcards for Eugenie Bouchard and Sloane Stephens.

Sloane Stephens - New Haven (©Connecticut Open)

Here’s the full list of players confirmed for the 2017 Connecticut Open:

Dominika Cibulkova
Agnieszka Radwanska
Petra Kvitova
Kristina Mladenovic
Elena Vesnina
Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova
Timea Bacsinszky
Daria Gavrilova
Barbora Strycova
Kiki Bertens
Lauren Davis
Carla Suárez Navarro
Mirjana Lucic-Baroni
Daria Kasatkina
Zhang Shuai
Roberta Vinci
Lesia Tsurenko
Samantha Stosur
Peng Shuai
Anett Kontaveit
Eugenie Bouchard (wildcard)
Sloane Stephens (wildcard)

The Connecticut Open is a WTA Premier event, which takes place August 18-26 at the Connecticut Tennis Center at Yale.