Lucie Safarova will join Simona Halep, Garbiñe Muguruza, Maria Sharapova, Petra Kvitova, Agnieszka Radwanska, Angelique Kerber and Flavia Pennetta in Singapore.
WTA Staff

SINGAPORE - With Carla Suárez Navarro losing her quarterfinal at the Kremlin Cup on Thursday, Lucie Safarova has secured the eighth and final spot in the elite eight at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, which kicks off at the Singapore Sports Hub in just a few days.

Suárez Navarro needed to reach the final in Moscow to overtake Safarova for the eighth spot, but she lost in straight sets to Russian WTA Rising Star Daria Kasatkina, meaning Safarova is confirmed.

"I am really excited to qualify for the WTA Finals for the first time," Safarova said of the news.

"It has been a dream year and to be one of the eight qualifiers in singles and also compete in the doubles is something that makes me very proud. There have already been so many highlights this year, and I hope to finish it playing some more great tennis in front of the amazing Singapore crowd."

Safarova's year has been highlighted by her first Grand Slam final at the French Open, which propelled her into the Top 10 for the first time - she made it as high as No.5 in the world in September.

She also won her first two Grand Slam titles in doubles at the Australian Open and French Open, both with Bethanie Mattek-Sands - with whom she qualified for the doubles event in Singapore as well.

The complete seeding order for the elite eight at the WTA Finals is confirmed now - here it is:

1. Simona Halep
2. Garbiñe Muguruza
3. Maria Sharapova
4. Petra Kvitova
5. Agnieszka Radwanska
6. Angelique Kerber
7. Flavia Pennetta
8. Lucie Safarova

Timea Bacsinszky and Venus Williams will serve as the first and second alternates, respectively.

Want to watch the elite eight go for season-ending glory? Buy your tickets and travel packages here.