All the key facts as the Coupe Banque Nationale reaches a climax, with Timea Babos taking on Alison van Uytvanck.
WTA Staff
September 17, 2017


Play starts at 11am


Timea BABOS (HUN) [3] vs Alison VAN UYTVANCK (BEL) [7]

After award ceremony
Timea BABOS (HUN) / Andrea HLAVACKOVA (CZE) [1] vs Bianca ANDREESCU (CAN) / Carson BRANSTINE (CAN)

Timea Babos élimine la favorite du tournoi Lucie Safarova et rejoint Alison Van Uytvanck en finale à la #CoupeBN! #Quebec #WTA

A post shared by Coupe Banque Nationale (@coupebanquenationale) on

So happy to play the final @WTA Quebec City!?? #workhardplayhard #volvo #polar #snauwaert #filatennis

A post shared by Alison Van Uytvanck (@alison_van_uytvanck) on


Timea Babos is seeking her second WTA title of the year, having beaten Lucie Safarova to win the Hungarian Ladies Open in Budapest in February. Alison van Uytvanck also made the final in Ilkley in June, but was beaten by Magdalena Rybarikova.

Alison van Uytvanck's career highlight was her WTA 125k success at the Taipei Open in 2013 - an event Timea Babos has also won. Van Uytvanck overcame compatriot Yanina Wickmayer in straight sets four years ago, before Babos also won over two sets, against Misaki Doi two years later.

Timea Babos leads Alison van Uytvanck 30-20 in aces served in this year's tournament. Only Lucie Safarova, beaten by Babos in the semifinals, has sent down more (31). Van Uytvanck has made 10 double faults to the Hungarian's eight. 

Alison van Uytvanck will hope for a repeat of the pair's only previous meeting, when the Belgian prevailed in straight sets at Indian Wells in 2015.

After opening with two three-set victories, Timea Babos won both her quarterfinal and semifinal in straight sets, while Alison van Uytvanck was only taken to three sets once, in her opening victory over Carol Zhao.

Kirsten Flipkens is the only Belgian to have previously won this tournament, beating Lucie Hradecka in 2012. The only previous Hungarian winner also beat a Czech Lucie in the final, Melanie Czink overcoming Lucie Safarova in 2009.

Both finalists' only previous showing at the Quebec tournament ended with them losing to the eventual winner. Timea Babos was beaten in 2014 by Mirjana Lucic-Baroni in the last 16, while Alison van Uytvanck went down to Océane Dodin in last year's quarterfinals.