Defending champion Angelique Kerber and last year’s finalist Karolina Pliskova headline the acceptance list for the 2017 US Open, along with a host of contenders.
WTA Staff
July 19, 2017

NEW YORK, NY, USA – The player field for the US Open is starting to take shape after the USTA unveiled the initial acceptance list today.

Monday marked the entry deadline for the last Grand Slam of 2017, with the USTA confirming the identity of 104 of the 128-strong draw. The remaining 24 spots will be awarded via the US Open Qualifying Tournament – which awards 16 spots – and eight wild cards, issued by the USTA.

Defending champion Angelique Kerber will be joined by all her principal title rivals, including the reigning French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko and Wimbledon winner Garbiñe Muguruza. The cut-off this year was No.105, with Julia Boserup claiming the last berth.

Click here to see the full announcement.

Last year’s finalist and newly-crowned WTA World No.1 Karolina Pliskova leads the singles field, along with French Open finalist and World No.2 Simona Halep. Wimbledon standout Johanna Konta, four-time WTA title winner Elina Svitolina, two-time US Open finalist Carline Wozniacki, 2004 champion Svetlana Kuznetsova, two-time champion Venus Williams and former Wimbledon finalist Agnieszka Radwanska round out the Top 10 (based on July 17 rankings).

A host of former Grand Slam champion will prove to be dangerous floaters in Flushing Meadows, with two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova, 2010 French Open champion Francesca Schiavone, and two-time Australian Open champion Victoria Azarenka also featuring in the list.

The players will have even more to compete for, with the 2017 US Open now boasting the richest prize purse in tennis history after the USTA also announced a major prize money increase for this year’s tournament.  

The purse for the tournament received a $4 million dollar boost for the second straight year, bringing it up to a record $50.4 million, a 9-percent increase over the 2016 US Open prize money totals. The singles winner will take home $3,700,000 while the doubles winners will wine $675,000 per team.