It's unanimous: the reigning Australian Open and US Open champion and World No.1 Angelique Kerber was voted 2016 WTA Player Of The Year.
WTA Staff

SINGAPORE - Angelique Kerber has been unanimously voted the 2016 WTA Player of the Year after enjoying her best season to date.

The German has been the most outstanding player on tour this year, winning her first two Grand Slams at the Australian Open and the US Open, beating Serena Williams in the former and Karolina Pliskova in the latter. In addition, Kerber successfully defended her title at the Porsche Tennis Grand Prix in Stuttgart, her home tournament.

A finalist at a WTA-leading seven events in 2016, Kerber became the 12th player in WTA history to finish the year at No.1 as she was crowned 2016 WTA Year-End World No.1 Singles Player, presented by Dubai Duty Free, earlier this week.

Kerber received the award at The Gala Evening at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global on Friday.

Kerber's achievements got the overwhelming endorsement receiving all 50 votes in the media ballots and even received a nod of approval from former world No.1 Serena Williams.

WTA Player Of The Year Winners
2016: Angelique Kerber
2015: Serena Williams
2014: Serena Williams
2013: Serena Williams
2012: Serena Williams
Petra Kvitova
2010: Kim Clijsters
2009: Serena Williams
2008: Serena Williams
2007: Justine Henin
2006: Amélie Mauresmo
2005: Kim Clijsters

Complete listing of the historical WTA Awards.