Loaded fields in Brisbane, Auckland, and Sydney highlight the first two weeks of the 2019 season. WTA Insider breaks down the Top 20 schedules.
WTA Insider Courtney Nguyen
December 26, 2018

The 2019 WTA Season set to kick off in less than a week, with the Brisbane International (Premier), ASB Classic in Auckland (International), and Shenzhen Open (International) getting underway on Monday, December 31st. 

Here's where the Top 20 are entered to start their seasons ahead of the first Slam of the year at the Australian Open. Brisbane sees 7 of the Top 10, including defending champion and WTA Finals champion Elina Svitolina top the field, while World No.1 Simona Halep will begin her preparations a week later in Sydney, which currently has 8 of the Top 10.

Notably, Angelique Kerber, Ashleigh Barty, Garbiñe Muguruza, and Serena Williams are scheduled to play the Hopman Cup exhibition in Perth, Australia during the first week of the season. 

Other notable entries: Jelena Ostapenko and Maria Sharapova are entered in Shenzhen, Venus Williams and Victoria Azarenka are entered in Auckland, and Johanna Konta is entered in Brisbane.