Who's had the most success in the California desert? How many successful title defenses have there been? Who's under the most points pressure? WTA Insider highlights the key numbers as the BNP Paribas Open gets underway.
WTA Insider Courtney Nguyen
March 7, 2018

INDIAN WELLS, USA - As the BNP Paribas Open gets underway, WTA Insider highlights the 10 stats you need to know. 

11: Times a top seed has won Indian Wells. The last time it happened was in 2012 when Victoria Azarenka consolidated her rise to No.1 with her first Indian Wells title. World No.1 Simona Halep, a champion here in 2015, heads into Indian Wells having suffered just one loss so far in 2018, posting a 14-1 record over three events. 

6: Premier Mandatory titles won by both Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka, leading all active players. 

Most Premier Mandatory Titles (active players)

6: Serena Williams
6: Victoria Azarenka
3: Simona Halep
3: Agnieszka Radwanska
3: Maria Sharapova

Serena and Azarenka are playing their first tournaments of the season. Serena will be playing her first tournament since January 2017, after taking leave to have her first daughter in September. Azarenka returns to the court for the first time since Wimbledon. The last time either woman played Indian Wells was in 2016, when they faced off in the final. Azarenka defeated then-No.1 Serena, 6-4, 6-4 en route to becoming the third woman to ever sweep the Sunshine Double. 

READ: WTA Insider Indian Wells Preview

14: Petra Kvitova's longest win streak of her career, which she tallied from the end of 2011 through the start of 2012. Kvitova comes into Indian Wells one win away from matching that streak, having won 13 consecutive matches in February en route to back-to-back titles in St. Petersburg and Doha. The two-time Wimbledon champion began the season at No.29 and is up to No.9 in the rankings after her February run, which saw her go 6-0 against Top 10 opposition to post a 14-2 record on the season so far.

1: Number of times a player has successfully defended their title in Indian Wells. Martina Navratilova is the only woman to accomplish the rare feat, winning back-to-back titles in 1990 and 1991. 

1065: Points Johanna Konta is defending over Indian Wells and Miami. Currently ranked No.11, the Brit advanced to the third round of Indian Wells last year (l. Garcia) and then won the biggest title of her career in Miami, defeating Wozniacki. 

Top 20 Players defending the most points over Indian Wells and Miami:

Johanna Konta: 1,065
Caroline Wozniacki: 865
Karolina Pliskova: 780
Svetlana Kuznetsova: 770
Venus Williams: 605
Kristina Mladenovic: 400
Garbiñe Muguruza: 335
Angelique Kerber: 335

2: Number of women who have completed a sweep of the singles and doubles titles at Indian Wells. Lindsay Davenport in 1997 (w/ Natasha Zvereva) and 2000 (w/ Corina Morariu), and Vera Zvonareva in 2009 (w/ Victoria Azarenka). 

This year, Indian Wells is offering a $1 million bonus to a player if they can complete a singles and doubles sweep. Two women have swept titles this season. Simona Halep at the Shenzhen Open (w/ Irina Camelia Begu) and Elise Mertens in Hobart (w/ Demi Schuurs). 

For more on the doubles draw, click here.

38: Main draw singles wins at Indian Wells for Maria Sharapova, leading all active players. Currently ranked No.41, Sharapova has posted a 38-11 record at Indian Wells and is a two-time champion, taking home the title in 2006 and 2013. 

19: Weeks Simona Halep will have spent at No.1 at the conclusion of Indian Wells, moving past Jelena Jankovic (18 weeks) and Jennifer Capriati (17 weeks) on the all-time list. If Halep holds on to the top spot through the Miami Open, she will pass Angelique Kerber (20 weeks) and Kim Clijsters (20 weeks) and move into a tie with Tracy Austin (21 weeks) and Maria Sharapova (21 weeks). 

The No.1 ranking is in play at Indian Wells. No.2 Caroline Wozniacki must make the final to have a chance at overtaking Halep. For a more detailed discussion of the No.1 scenarios over the next two weeks, click here

11: Career titles for World No.4 Elina Svitolina. The 23-year-old has already picked up two titles in 2018, winning in Brisbane and Dubai, widening the gap between herself and her 23-and-under cohorts:

Titles won by players born in 1993 or later:

Elina Svitolina (1994): 11
Garbiñe Muguruza (1993): 5
Sloane Stephens (1993): 5
Caroline Garcia (1993): 5
Madison Keys (1995): 3
Timea Babos (1993): 3

READ: Who's hot heading into the Sunshine Double?

4: Players who have made multiple finals so far in 2018.

Simona Halep: Shenzhen (won), Australian Open (runner-up)
Caroline Wozniacki: Auckland (runner-up), Australian Open (won)
Elina Svitolina: Brisbane (won), Dubai (won)
Petra Kvitova: St. Petersburg (won), Doha (won)

Stats and information provided by SAP Tennis Analytics.