Former World No.1 Venus Williams enters the 2019 Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic at San José State University, joining fellow Grand Slam champions Garbiñe Muguruza, Victoria Azarenka, and Jelena Ostapenko at the WTA Premier event.
WTA Staff
July 16, 2019

SAN JOSE, CA, USA -- Seven‐time Grand Slam champion Venus Williams has joined the player field for the 2019 Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic at San José State University.

This will be Williams’s 15th appearance at the event and her second consecutive showing at San José, having advanced to the quarterfinals last year. Former World No.1 Williams, a two-time singles champion at the event, will contest the featured evening session match on Tuesday, July 30.

“We are very excited to have Venus join our player field,” said tournament director Vickie Gunnasson. “She is a tennis icon and tremendous ambassador for the sport. Having her competing at the Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is truly special and boosts our already great player field.”

Read more: Major champions and rising stars highlight San José entries

A winner of 49 career WTA singles titles, Williams enhances an already star‐studded line-up that includes fellow Grand Slam winners Garbiñe Muguruza, Victoria Azarenka, and Jelena Ostapenko.

Other featured players coming to San José include defending champion Mihaela Buzarnescu, 2018 finalist Maria Sakkari, 17-year-old French Open semifinalist Amanda Anisimova, World No. 7 and Wimbledon semifinalist Elina Svitolina, World No. 10 Aryna Sabalenka, Chinese No. 1 Qiang Wang, Belgian star Elise Mertens and Australian Open semifinalist Danielle Collins.

Six of the women in this year’s player field have already won singles titles in 2019. Overall, the list of players have combined to win 115 career WTA singles titles.

Now entering its 49th year, the Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is a weeklong WTA Premier event which features a 28-player singles draw as well as a 16-team doubles draw, and serves as the opening women's event of the US Open Series. It is the longest-running women-only professional tennis tournament in the world.