Serena Williams capped off her clay season by winning her third French Open title - an incredible 20th Grand Slam - and for that reason you voted her May's WTA Player Of The Month.
WTA Staff

Serena Williams came into the clay season with the Australian Open and Miami titles already under her belt, but fighting against a series of nagging injuries. In Madrid, Williams had to pass a tough round of 16 test from Victoria Azarenka on her way to the semifinals, where she suffered her first loss of the season to Petra Kvitova.

At the French Open, Williams powered through to the final, where she won a milestone 20th Grand Slam. It was a tough road to get there, however, with Williams battling back from a set down four times - against Anna-Lena Friedsam, Azarenka, Sloane Stephens and Timea Bacsinszky. In the final, she faced an on-fire Lucie Safarova, who was playing the best tennis of her life. Williams survived a mid-match surge to eventually defeat the Czech, 6-3, 6-7(2), 6-2, becoming the first woman to win back-to-back Australian Open and French Open titles since 2001.

What did she think of her milestone achievement?

"To win my 20th Grand Slam title at Roland Garros is very special for me because I haven't always had the most success here," Williams said. "Being down in the second, third, fourth round, it wasn't very easy, so this is probably my most difficult Grand Slam. I can't believe I actually won, it seems a little bit like a dream."

Her incredible results this month cemented her position atop the Road To Singapore leaderboard, putting Serena on the brink of qualifying for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global.

For that reason, Serena has been named May's WTA Player of the Month.

Final Results for May's WTA Player of the Month

1. Serena Williams (58%)
2. Lucie Safarova (20%)
3. Maria Sharapova (14%)
4. Petra Kvitova (8%)


2015 WTA Player of the Month Winners

April: Angelique Kerber
March: Serena Williams
February: Simona Halep
January: Serena Williams

How it works:

Four finalists are selected by
Winner is then determined by a fan vote on