Shock 2018 Indian Wells champion Naomi Osaka was still unseeded in Miami, and scored a first-round win over childhood idol Serena Williams before falling 6-4, 6-2 to Elina Svitolina in the second round (Getty)
March 20, 2019
The March hard courts form one of the calendar's toughest swings, with only three players successfully pulling off the Sunshine Double of titles in Indian Wells and Miami - Stefanie Graf, Kim Clijsters and Victoria Azarenka. Check out how all the Indian Wells champions have fared in Miami since 1996, when the former became a 96-draw Tier I tournament.
A second hat-trick and a record eighth title overall: Serena Williams's reign as Queen of Miami continued in 2015 with a 6-2, 6-0 defeat of Carla Suárez Navarro in the final (Getty)
March 6, 2019
From Martina Hingis to Sloane Stephens via Serena Williams's all-time record, here are all of the Miami Open champions since 2000 in pictures.
Lindsay Davenport followed her 1997 success with another title in 2000, beating Martina Hingis 4-6, 6-4, 6-0 (Getty)
March 4, 2019
Take a look back at the recent winners of the title in California.
Just as Clijsters had done, Azarenka backed up Indian Wells with a Miami title run without losing a set, including a brilliant 7-6(6), 7-6(4) fourth-round win over Garbiñe Muguruza and a 6-3, 6-2 defeat of Svetlana Kuznetsova iin the final (Getty)
March 2, 2019
The Sunshine Double - title runs at both Indian Wells and Miami in the same year - has only been completed four times in WTA history. Find out more here.
Venus Williams, Simona Halep - Australian Open 2019 - Getty
January 20, 2019
World No.1 Simona Halep has the opportunity to pull off a rare accomplishment in the Australian Open fourth round: only eight players have ever defeated both Serena and Venus Williams, the two most accomplished active players on the WTA Tour, in the same tournament. Find out more here.
Caroline Wozniacki won her first Grand Slam event in 2018, beating Simona Halep 7-6, 3-6, 6-4 (Getty)
January 12, 2019
From Serena Williams to Caroline Wozniacki, celebrating 10 years of singles winners in Australia.
Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, Andy Murray - US Open 2014 - Getty
January 11, 2019
Two-time Wimbledon champion Andy Murray has announced his impending retirement from tennis - and some of the WTA Tour's biggest stars were quick to praise the long-time vocal supporter of equality in the sport.
Victoria Azarenka won the first edition of the new tournament, beating Marion Bartoli 6-3, 6-1 in the 2009 final (Getty)
December 22, 2018
From Victoria Azarenka to Elina Svitolina, relive 10 years of the Brisbane International.
Serena Williams
November 16, 2018
23-time Grand Slam Champion Serena Williams sat down with GQ after winning its Woman of the Year award, breaking down the matches that defined her career while husband Alexis Ohanian celebrates their one-year anniversary.
Monica Seles, BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, Singapore
October 22, 2018
Former World No.1 Monica Seles compared the current generation to the era in which she and fellow WTA Legends Lindsay Davenport, Kim Clijsters, and Jennifer Capriati played at the WTA Finals in Singapore.
Lindsay Davenport, Kim Clijsters, BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, Singapore
October 22, 2018
Speaking at a WTA Legends panel at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, Lindsay Davenport and Kim Clijsters discussed their favorite moments of the 2018 season alongside Jennifer Capriati, and Monica Seles.
Osaka's childhood dream of defeating Serena in a US Open came true. (Getty Images)
August 19, 2018
New US Open champion Naomi Osaka will be 21 in October. Here we look back at all the New York title singles title holders since the year of her birth.