Garbiñe Muguruza romped to her first Grand Slam title of her career at the French Open - and for that reason you voted her May's WTA Player Of The Month.
WTA Staff

Two years after stunning World No.1 Serena Williams in the second round of the French Open, Garbiñe Muguruza enjoyed a full circle moment on the terre battue in 2016, defeating Williams once again to capture her maiden major title.

"I'm pretty shocked still," the Spaniard said in her post-match press conference. "Pretty excited about what just happened. I think I've got to take my time and enjoy, because with tennis players it goes so fast.

"You have to right away think about another tournament. I want to enjoy."

Muguruza was the first Spanish woman to reach the Roland Garros final since 2000 (Conchita Martinez); with her win over Williams, she became the first Spaniard to win a Grand Slam title since Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario in 1998, and the first two rise into the Top 2 on the WTA rankings since December of 1996.

Racing out to a set and a break advantage, Muguruza had four championship points on Serena's serve before ultimately serving out the victory one game later.

"It was very difficult to see you have four match points and doesn't go your way. But it's a final. There's no room for being disappointed or for excuses.

"I still had another chance serving, and even after. I just tried to be calm even though inside, I was like, 'Oh, there's no way.' I managed to be calm and just think about what I have to do every point, you know, and don't think about match point or championship point."

With her first Grand Slam title already under her belt, the 2015 Wimbledon finalist will certainly be one to watch as the tour turns to grass, and as May's WTA Player Of The Month!

Final Results for May's WTA Player Of The Month

1. Garbiñe Muguruza (70%)
2. Simona Halep (20%)
3. Serena Williams (10%)

Garbine Muguruza

2016 WTA Player of the Month Winners

January: Angelique Kerber
February: Carla Suárez Navarro
March: Victoria Azarenka
April: Angelique Kerber

How it works:

Finalists are selected by
Winner is then determined by a fan vote on