Belinda Bencic is looking to become the latest Newcomer Of The Year to use the award as a springboard for further success.
WTA Staff

A brilliant breakthrough season for Belinda Bencic was crowned on Monday when she was unveiled as the WTA's Newcomer Of The Year. Having started the year outside the Top 200, a number of reputation-enhancing results sent the Swiss soaring up the rankings before she announced herself to the wider sporting world with a run to the US Open quarterfinals.

Will Bencic's ranking continue to soar in 2015? History would suggest so: 25 of the past 37 winners of the award improved their ranking 12 months later:

Newcomer Of YearFinal RankingNext Year RankingChange
1977: Tracy AustinNo.12No.6+6
1980: Andrea JaegerNo.7No.4+3
1981: Kathy Rinaldi StunkelNo.33No.15+18
1982: Zina GarrisonNo.16No.12+4
1983: Carling Bassett-SegusoNo.20No.11+9
1985: Gabriela SabatiniNo.12No.9+3
1987: Arantxa Sánchez-VicarioNo.54No.18+36
1990: Jennifer CapriatiNo.8No.6+2
1993: Iva MajoliNo.46No.13+33
1994: Irina SpirleaNo.43No.21+22
1995: Martina HingisNo.16No.6+10
1996: Anna KournikovaNo.65No.32+33
1997: Venus WilliamsNo.22No.5+17
1998: Serena WilliamsNo.20No.4+16
1999: Kim ClijstersNo.46No.18+28
2000: Daja BedanovaNo.53No.28+25
2001: Daniela HantuchovaNo.38No.8+30
2002: Svetlana KuznetsovaNo.43No.36+7
2003: Maria SharapovaNo.32No.4+28
2004: Tatiana GolovinNo.27No.24+3
2006: Agnieszka RadwanskaNo.57No.26+31
2008: Caroline WozniackiNo.12No.4+8
2009: Petra KvitovaNo.34No.2+32
2012: Laura RobsonNo.53No.46+7
2013: Eugenie BouchardNo.32No.7


While a Newcomer Of The Year improving their ranking the following year is fairly common, going all the way to Grand Slam glory is quite rare, as only three have done so:

Newcomer Of YearSlam Title
1998: Serena Williams1999 US Open
2003: Maria Sharapova2004 Wimbledon
2010: Petra Kvitova2011 Wimbledon

Note: In addition to the three players above, Tracy Austin, Gabriela Sabatini, Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario, Conchita Martínez, Jennifer Capriati, Iva Majoli, Martina Hingis, Venus Williams, Kim Clijsters and Svetlana Kuznetsova also went on to capture Grand Slam titles, but not the very next year after winning Newcomer Of The Year.