ST PETERSBURG, FL, USA - The WTA announced today the player field set to compete in the third annual Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai from October 31 – November 5, 2017 for a total prize money of over $2.2 million.

The year-end event features both singles and doubles, and will be staged in the southern Chinese coastal city of Zhuhai at the custom designed and state-of-the-art Zhuhai Hengqin International Tennis Centre.

Among the prominent list of players who will compete in Zhuhai are two Grand Slam champions, including Sloane Stephens (2017 US Open) and Angelique Kerber (2016 Australian Open and US Open). In addition, Kristina Mladenovic and CoCo Vandeweghe will be making their debut appearances in Zhuhai following their best seasons yet. Between all players competing in Zhuhai this year, they represent 11 WTA singles titles won in 2017.

“We are pleased to welcome the third edition of the WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai, featuring many of the top athletes on the WTA,” stated Steve Simon, WTA CEO and Chairman. “This signature event showcases top players along with up and coming stars, all joining together and celebrating their successes of the 2017 WTA season.”

“We are excited to have all the players confirmed to compete at the 2017 Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai,” said Tournament Director Jose Miguel Garcia. “After an amazing season of women’s tennis, all the players that have gained their spot to play in Zhuhai are amongst the best players in the world. Great tennis is guaranteed for all the fans coming to Zhuhai and everyone following from home all over the world.”

The Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai’s 12-player singles field consists of players that are the highest-ranked following those that qualified for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, in addition to one wildcard awarded to China’s No.1 ranked player, Peng Shuai. The players will compete in four round robin groups of three, with the winners of each group advancing to the semifinals. The six doubles teams will be split into two round robin groups, with the winner of each advancing to the final.