ST PETERSBURG, FL, USA - The WTA (Women’s Tennis Association) announced today that Johanna Konta, Aryna Sabalenka, Sofia Kenin, Madison Keys and Petra Martic have qualified for the fifth annual Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai, set to take place October 22-27 for a total prize money of over $2.4 million. 

The prestigious event features both singles and doubles, and will be staged in the southern Chinese coastal city of Zhuhai at the custom designed and state-of-the-art Zhuhai Hengqin International Tennis Centre.

Among the prominent list of players who will compete in Zhuhai, Konta reached the semifinal stage at Roland Garros this year followed by quarterfinal appearances at Wimbledon and the US Open.

“I’m honoured to have qualified for the Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai and to be among the top players of the season,” said Konta. “Zhuhai is an amazing city, and I can’t wait to be back to compete in front of all the wonderful fans.”

Roland Garros semifinalist Johanna Konta (Getty)

Sabalenka will join the field after a 2019 season highlighted by winning titles at the Shenzhen Open in the opening week of the season, and most recently at the Dongfeng Motor Wuhan Open, where she successfully defended her title.

Two Americans – Kenin and Keys – will also join the lineup. Kenin has won three titles this year, at the Hobart International, Mallorca Open and Guangzhou International Women’s Open, and currently leads the Tour for most hard-court match wins this season (37). Keys captured two titles this season including the Volvo Car Open (Charleston) and Western & Southern Open (Cincinnati).

Martic lifted her maiden WTA singles title this year at the BNP Paribas Istanbul Cup and will join the list of esteemed players to compete in Zhuhai with six more qualifying spots remaining, along with one wildcard.

The Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai’s 12-player singles field includes 10 of the WTA's Top 20 players, in addition to one wildcard. The players will compete in four round robin groups of three, with the winners of each group advancing to the semifinals. The six doubles teams will be split into two round robin groups, with the winner of each advancing to the final.