ROME, Italy - To celebrate the tremendous hard work put forward by WTA tournaments year in and year out, the WTA honored the 2017 Best Tournament Awards winners at a Worldwide Tournament Directors Meeting in Rome.

Read more: Indian Wells, Rome, Stuttgart and Acapulco win tournament awards

“Tournaments and players are the core of the WTA. We’re especially proud to honor the standout tournaments which have elevated their event to new heights and have given women’s tennis an unprecedented stage to compete,” said Steve Simon, WTA CEO and Chairman.

“As we present the 2017 WTA Tournament of the Year awards, we’re privileged to have CoCo Vandeweghe join us in recognizing and celebrating their outstanding work.”

CoCo Vandeweghe, on behalf of the WTA players and executives, presented the 2017 Best Tournament Awards to the respective Tournament winners.

Best of 2017
WTA Premier Mandatory: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
WTA Premier 5: Internazionali BNL d’Italia (Rome)
WTA Premier: Porsche Tennis Grand Prix (Stuttgart)
WTA International: Abierto Mexicano TELCEL presentado por HSBC (Acapulco)

Peggy Michel accepted the award on behalf of Indian Wells, Giorgio di Palermo on behalf of Rome, while tournament directors Markus Guenthardt and Raul Zurutuza were on hand to accept their accolades for Stuttgart and Acapulco, respectively.

From left: WTA CEO Steve Simon, WTA COO Matt Cenedella, CoCo Vandeweghe, Markus Guenthardt (Stuttgart), Peggy Michel (Indian Wells), Giorgio di Palermo (Rome), Raul Zurutuza (Acapulco), and WTA President Micky Lawler.