Both of the Indian Wells finalists are under the age of 21 - for the first time since 2001, when Serena Williams beat Kim Clijsters.

Daria Kasatkina, finalist in Dubai earlier this year, seeks her second WTA singles title, having previously won in Charleston last year. She is the third Russian to make the Indian Wells final in the last two years, after compatriots Elena Vesnina and Svetlana Kuznetsova faced off last year.

Naomi Osaka has yet to win a tournament, having made the last four of a WTA event for just the second time - adding to her final showing at the Tokyo Pan Pacific Open in 2016..

Naomi Osaka is the fourth unseeded player to reach the Indian Wells final, and the first in 13 years - since Kim Clijsters in 2005. Osaka would become the youngest Indian Wells champion since Ana Ivanovic prevailed a decade ago, aged 20 years and 138 days.

Both players have dropped one set en route to the final, Naomi Osaka being pegged back by Maria Sakkari in the last 16 while Venus Williams levelled against Daria Kasatkina in the semifinal.

Daria Kasatkina has beaten all four reinging Grand Slam champions in the past year. Her victory over US Open champion Sloane Stephens at Indian Wells came after she overcame French Open winner Jelena Ostapenko at the US Open, Australian Open champion Caroline Wozniacki at both St Petersburg and Indian Wells and Wimbledon winner Garbiñe Muguruza in Dubai.


Play starts at 11am

Naomi Osaka (JPN) v Daria Kasatkina (RUS) [20]