Eight of the world’s Top 10 players, including French Open champion Ashleigh Barty, Wimbledon winner Simona Halep and WTA World No.3 Karolina Pliskova will play the Dongfeng Motor Wuhan Open.

With Kiki Bertens, Petra Kvitova, Elina Svitolina, Aryna Sabalenka and Sloane Stephens also having confirmed their intent to play in China, it means that Naomi Osaka and Serena Williams are the sole Top 10 stars to sit the WTA Premier 5 event out.

READ MORE: Porsche Race to Shenzhen Update: Andreescu returns to Top 8

The tournament will run from September 23 through September 29 and will immediately precede the China Open, a Premier Mandatory event, the following week in Beijing.

It is an event that has run for each of the last five years, with four of the previous winners having entered the 2019 edition. Sabalenka is the defending champion, while Kvitova has won the competition twice, which no-one else has done. The other woman to have tasted success and to be returning this year is 2017 winner Caroline Garcia.

As a Premier 5 event, there are 43 direct entries, currently cutting off at WTA World No.46 Ajla Tomljanovic, five wildcards and eight players who will come through qualifying. Meanwhile, the top eight seeds will go straight into the second round of the indoor hard court tournament.