Czech legend Helena Sukova, a 14-time major champion in doubles and mixed doubles, has been named as a candidate for induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2018.

Sukova was the World No.1 doubles player for 68 weeks, winning 14 Grand Slam tournament titles in women's doubles and mixed doubles; and in singles she achieved a career high of World No.4,
reaching the final twice each at the Australian Open and the US Open.
Sukova was also a standout competitor for her country, as an integral part of the Czechoslovakia and Czech Republic Fed Cup teams for 13 years, and as an Olympian, winning two silver medals alongside Jana Novotva in 1988 and 1996.

She is nominated alongside Wimbledon champions Pat Cash and Michael Stich, along with Anders Jarryd and Tom Okker, who both won multiple doubles titles at Grand Slam tournaments.

“Among this year’s Hall of Fame candidates, we have Wimbledon champions, Olympic medalists, fierce competitors, and athletes who consistently maintained rankings at the top of our sport over long durations of time. The Class of 2018 candidates hail from five different nations,” said Hall of Famer Stan Smith, who serves as President of the International Tennis Hall of Fame and Chairman of the Enshrinee Nominating Committee.

“The variety among their geographic backgrounds and the breadth of their accomplishments and playing styles is highly representative of tennis as a whole, while this nomination is a great recognition of each of them individually," he added. "Congratulations to Pat Cash, Anders Jarryd, Tom Okker, Michael Stich, and Helena Sukova on this great recognition of their impressive careers."

Over the years, the honor of Hall of Fame induction has been presented to 252 individuals hailing from 23 nations. Located in Newport, Rhode Island, the International Tennis Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization committed to preserving and promoting the history of tennis and celebrating its greatest champions.

Voting for the Hall of Fame Class of 2018 will take place this fall, and the inductees will be announced in the first quarter of 2018.