ST PETERSBURG, FL, USA - The WTA have announced the player field set to compete in the fourth annual Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai from October 30 - November 4, 2018 for a total prize money of over $2.3 million.

The year-end event features both singles and doubles, and will be staged in the southern Chinese coastal city of Zhuhai at the custom designed and state-of-the-art Zhuhai Hengqin International Tennis Centre.

Among the prominent list of players who will compete in Zhuhai is two-time Grand Slam champion  Garbiñe Muguruza (2016 Roland Garros and 2017 Wimbledon). In addition, 2017 US Open runner-up Madison Keys will make her second appearance in Zhuhai while Julia Goerges returns to defend her crown. Between all players competing in Zhuhai this year, they represent 14 WTA singles titles won in 2018.

LOOK: The Zhuhai field and their 2018 best result

The player field also includes: Daria Kasatkina, Anastasija Sevastova, Aryna Sabalenka, Elise Mertens, Caroline Garcia, Anett Kontaveit, Wang Qiang, and Zhang Shuai.

“We are excited to welcome the fourth edition of the Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai, highlighting many of the top athletes on the WTA Tour,” stated Steve Simon, WTA CEO and Chairman. “This world-class event showcases top players along with up and coming stars, all joining together and celebrating their achievements of the 2018 WTA season.”

“We are extremely happy with the list of players that have qualified to play at the 2018 Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai," said Tournament Director Jose Miguel Garcia. "For the first time in the four years of the tournament there will be two Chinese players in the singles draw, which shows how fast tennis is developing in China. All the players that have qualified are amongst the best tennis players in the world, and they will all come to Zhuhai to compete at their highest level. Great tennis is guaranteed for all the fans coming to Zhuhai and everyone following from home all over the world.”

The Hengqin Life WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai’s 12-player singles field includes 10 of the WTA's Top 20 players, in addition to one wildcard awarded to China’s No.1 ranked player, Wang Qiang. The players will compete in four round robin groups of three, with the winners of each group advancing to the semifinals. The six doubles teams will be split into two round robin groups, with the winner of each advancing to the final.