Doubles Final -- 1:30 p.m. start
[6] Gabriela DABROWSKI (CAN) / XU Yifan (CHN) vs. [5] HSIEH Su-Wei (TPE) / Barbora STRYCOVA (CZE)

Singles Final -- 6:30 p.m. start
[3] Simona HALEP (ROU) vs. [7] Kiki BERTENS (NED)


Simona Halep will reclaim the World No.1 ranking from Naomi Osaka if she is able to defeat Kiki Bertens and win the Mutua Madrid Open title.

Read more: No.1 Scenarios: Simona Halep bids to unseat Naomi Osaka in Madrid

Halep leads her head-to-head record with Bertens by 3-2. They have split their two matches on clay: Bertens won their semifinal encounter in Fes in 2012 in straight sets, and Halep claimed victory in their 2017 Rome semifinal in straight sets.

Bertens won their most recent meeting, a three-set comeback victory in the Cincinnati final last year. Bertens fended off a championship point held by Halep and claimed that trophy for the biggest title of her career to date.

Read more: Halep solves Bencic puzzle, returns to Madrid final

Bertens is projected to make her debut appearance in the Top 5 if she can defeat Halep for the Madrid championship. If Bertens can win the final in straight sets, she would become the first-ever woman to win the Madrid title without the loss of a set.

After hitting three aces in her semifinal win over Sloane Stephens, Bertens is now just two aces behind Karolina Pliskova for the ace lead in 2019. This year, Pliskova has hit 217 aces in 27 matches, while Bertens has now hit 215 in 32 tilts.

Halep claimed the Madrid title in 2016 (defeating Dominika Cibulkova in the final) and 2017 (with a final win over Kristina Mladenovic).

Photos: Magnificent in Madrid: A decade of champions from Safina to Kvitova

Gabriela Dabrowski and Xu Yifan are seeking their second Premier Mandatory title as a team; they also won the Miami Open together in 2017. Both Dabrowski and Xu are seeking their ninth career WTA doubles title respectively.

Former doubles World No.1 Hsieh Su-Wei is aiming for her 22nd WTA doubles title, while Barbora Strycova seeks her 25th. This would be the fourth Premier Mandatory title for each of them, including the 2018 BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, which they won together.