Naomi Osaka returns to Indian Wells in an effort to defend her title this year as the 2019 BNP Paribas Open main draw gets under way on Wednesday March 6.

LOOK: From Davenport to Osaka - Indian Wells champions this century

The winner of the tournament will take home a check for $1,354,010.

The runner-up wins $686,000, with each semifinalist receiving $354,000.

The final eight get $182,000, and those in the fourth round secure $91,205, while players reaching the third round win $48,775.

Reaching the second round will mean a player gets $26,430, while those in the first round win $16,425.

Osaka beat Daria Kasatkina in last year's final, 6-3, 6-2, and she is joined in the draw by other former champions including two-time titlist Victoria Azarenka and 2015 winner Simona Halep.

READ MORE: Indian Wells 2019 draw analysis - No.1 on the line

In the doubles, the winning team will share a check for $457,290, with the finalists splitting a prize of $223,170. Last year's champions were Hsieh Su-Wei and Barbora Strycova, who defeated the all-Russian team of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina 6-4, 6-4 in the final.