Julia Goerges will open her BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open campaign against Viktoria Kuzmova.

The top seed, runner-up at the event in 2010, faces the Slovakian for a third time this year, having already beaten the 20-year-old in Moscow and Auckland in 2018. Goerges reached the last 16 in Beijing earlier this month and also made the last four in New Haven in August and Wimbledon the previous month. She is seeded to meet Donna Vekic in the quarterfinals this week and Katerina Siniakova in the last four.

VIEW MORE: Previous Luxembourg winners

The tournament, in its 23rd year, will also include Garbiñe Muguruza opening against Stefanie Vögele. The Spaniard is one of three wildcards this week, alongside home favorite Mandy Minella and Frenchwoman Fiona Ferro. Teenager Dayana Yastremska, fresh from winning the Prudential Hong Kong Tennis Open, is a possible second-round opponent for second seed Muguruza, while Ferro takes on 2016 winner Monica Niculescu.

Minella, the eldest player in the tournament at 32, is playing her first home Open since her return from giving birth. She had been handed a tough opening assignment, against Italian fourth seed Camila Giorgi, but the Linz champion has been forced to withdraw with a right foot injury. She has been replaced in the draw by Kirsten Flipkens.

Reigning champion Carina Witthoeft, who beat Monica Puig to lift the title 12 months ago, opens the defence of her crown against Vera Lapko, of Belarus.


[1] J Goerges (GER) v V Kuzmova (SVK)
A Blinkova (RUS) v T Maria (GER)
[WC] F Ferro (FRA) v M Niculescu (ROU)
A Schmiedlova (SVK) v [6] D Vekic (CRO)
[3] C Suárez Navarro (ESP) v Qualifier
Qualifier v T Babos (HUN)
A Petkovic (GER) v A Van Uytvanck (BEL)
J Larsson (SWE) v [5] K Siniakova (CZE)
[8] P Parmentier (FRA) v V Golubic (SUI)
V Lapko (BLR) v C Witthoeft (GER)
Qualifier v Qualifier
[WC] M Minella (LUX) v K Flipkens (BEL)
[7] M Sakkari (GRE) v M Gasparyan (RUS)
D Jakupovic (SLO) v K Kozlova (UKR)
[SE] D Yastremska (UKR) v qualifier/lucky loser
S Voegele (SUI) v [2] [WC] G Muguruza (ESP)