The 2020 season has come to a close, and three coaches have been nominated for the WTA's 2020 Coach of the Year. The award is given to the coach who not only cultivates success on the court, but who also serves as an ambassador of the sport and brings coaching to the forefront of the game.

Check out the nominees here:


Michael Geserer (Jennifer Brady)

- Led Brady from a 2019 year-end ranking of No.56 to a current career-high of No.24

- Brady won her first WTA title at the Top Seed Open presented by Bluegrass Orthopaedics in August

- The American started the season by reaching the Brisbane International quarterfinals as a qualifier, defeating Maria Sharapova and World No.1 Ashleigh Barty en route 

- She went on to also make the semifinals at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships (again as a qualifier), the US Open, and the J&T Banka Ostrava Open


Piotr Sierzputowski (Iga Swiatek)

- Led Swiatek from a 2019 year-end ranking of No.61 to a current career-high ranking of No.17

- Swiatek became the first Polish player to win a major singles title at Roland Garros

- She started the season by reaching a Grand Slam second week for the second time in her career, at the Australian Open


Wim Fissette (Naomi Osaka)

- Coached the former World No.1 back to No.3 on the WTA rankings, same as year end 2019

- Osaka won her third major title at the US Open (her second in Flushing Meadows)

- She finished runner-up at the Western & Southern Open and as a semifinalist at the Brisbane International

2020 Shot of the Year: Finalists