Cast your vote now for May's Breakthrough of the Month - Ons Jabeur, Jelena Ostapenko, Veronica Cepede Royg, or Caroline Garcia?
WTA Staff

May was defined by four breakthrough players who brought some impressive performances on and off the court. Which one soared the highest?

Have a look at the nominees for May's Breakthrough Performance of the Month and cast your vote before Thursday at 11:59pm ET! The winner will be announced Friday, June 16.

May 2017 WTA Breakthrough Performance of the Month Finalists:

Ons Jabeur: A lucky loser at the French Open, Jabeur lit up the City of Lights to become the first Arab women to reach the third round at a Grand Slam. Junior champion back in 2011, she stunned reigning BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global champion Dominika Cibulkova in straight sets for her best-ever major result that put her within striking distance of a Top 100 debut.

Jelena Ostapenko: The Latvian enjoyed a major breakthrough of epic proportions at the French Open, taking home the title over No.3 seed Simona Halep in a three-set final. Never before past the third round at a major tournament, Ostapenko stunned Samantha Stosur, Caroline Wozniacki, and Timea Bacsinszky - all in three sets - and used her awesome power game to roar back from a set and a break down against the Romanian to rocket into the Top 20 for the first time in her young career.

Veronica Cepede Royg: The Paraguayan star was behind one of the French Open's first big surprises when she survived a three-setter against pre-tournament darkhorse Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova en route to the fourth round. Once there, she gave eventual semifinalist Karolina Pliskova all she could handle in a three-set thriller.

Caroline Garcia: Garcia flew above her previous best results at the Grand Slams to reach her first career quarterfinals, navigating a tense three-setter against Hsieh Su-Wei before putting on a decisive performance to defeat fellow Frenchwoman Alizé Cornet. Playing Pliskova tough through three sets, Garcia finished within one spot of a Top 20 debut at No.21.

Ons Jabeur, Jelena Ostapenko, Veronica Cepede Royg, Caroline Garcia

2017 Winners:

January: CoCo Vandeweghe
February: Kristina Mladenovic
March: Risa Ozaki

April: Daria Kasatkina

How it works:

Finalists are selected by
Winner is then determined by a fan vote on