The first Grand Slam of the year has increased in the cash rewards for players. The prize money is equal for women's and men's events.
WTA Staff
January 13, 2019

The Australian Open women's singles final is on Saturday January 26, 2019.

Caroline Wozniacki is the defending champion, having won her maiden Grand Slam at Melbourne Park last year by beating Simona Halep 7-6, 3-6, 6-4.

Serena Williams returns to the site of her last Slam victory, where she beat sister Venus in the 2017 final.

The women's doubles final will be on Friday January 25, before the men's singles semifinals.

Read more: Magic in Melbourne: 10 years of Australian Open champions

Serena edged a family affair in 2017, defeating sister Venus 6-4, 6-4 (Getty)
The Williams sisters in 2017 (Getty)

The Australian Open has increased prize money to an historic high of $62.5 million Australian dollars for 2019, up 14 per cent on 2018.

The singles champion will pick up $4.1million, with the runner-up taking home half that.

Players who make it past the first round will make $75,000, with second-round winners receiving $105,000.

Third-round winners get $155,000, fourth-round winners $260,000, and quarterfinalists $460,000, with twice that going to the semifinalists.

The prize money pot has increased by more than 351 per cent or $48.6m in the 20 years since 2001, when it was $13.9m.