Seven members of the WTA Top 10 will take part in the season-opening event in Australia.
WTA Staff
November 22, 2018

BRISBANE, Australia – Seven of the WTA Top 10, including Elina Svitolina, Naomi Osaka and Sloane Stephens will play the Brisbane International.

Svitolina, who won the WTA Finals and is the WTA World No.4, will defend the title she picked up 12 months ago thanks to a 6-2, 6-1 victory over Aliaksandra Sasnovich.

There are three Grand Slam champions confirmed in the field, with Osaka and Stephens joined by two-time Wimbledon winner Petra Kvitova while 2011 US Open champion and home favorite Samantha Stosur is on the list of alternates will be hoping for one of four wildcard spots.

Karolina Pliskova, who won this tournament in 2017, is another big name confirmed in the main draw, with Kiki Bertens and Daria Kasatkina the other members of the Top 10 who are slated to play the tournament.

WTA World No.36 Daria Gavrilova is looking forward to having such a high-quality field in the event.

“To have so many top players coming to Brisbane is fantastic. I am looking forward to producing some great tennis here and getting my new season underway,” the Australian No.1 said.

Tournament director Cameron Pearson, meanwhile, believes the strength of the field reflects well upon the tournament and the atmosphere surrounding it.

He said: “We are once again thrilled so many of the world’s best players want to come to Brisbane. This speaks volumes for the event, the fans who come to watch and the city of Brisbane.”

The tournament begins on December 31, running through to January 6, 2019, and signals the beginning of a new season as well as the start of preparations for the Australian Open.