All the details as Daria Gavrilova takes on Dominika Cibulkova for the Connecticut Open title on Saturday.
WTA Staff
August 26, 2017

Play starts at 12.30pm


Gabriela Dabrowski (CAN) / Yifan Xu (CHN) [4] vs. Ashleigh Barty (AUS) / Casey Dellacqua (AUS) [2]

Not before 3pm 
Daria Gavrilova (AUS) vs. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK) [2]

Are you not entertained? @daria_gav beats defending champion Radwanska in straight sets to reach the #CTOpenTennis final.

A post shared by Connecticut Open (@connecticutopen) on

FINALS here we go!!!! ??????????????? @connecticutopen

A post shared by Dominika Cibulkova (@domicibulkova) on


Dominika Cibulkova takes part in her first WTA final since October, when she beat Angelique Kerber to win the WTA finals in Singapore.

Daria Gavrilova is competing in her second final of 2017 and third of her career. She has yet to win a WTA title, having lost to fellow Australian, Sam Stosur, in the Strasbourg final in May and Svetlana Kuznetsova, in Moscow last October.

Dominika Cibulkova won the only previous meeting with Daria Gavrilova, prevailing in straight sets in the second round at Wimbledon last year.

Daria Gavrilova is enjoying her best showing in Connecticut, having been knocked out in the first round of her only other appearance, losing to Lucie Safarova two years ago. She is the first Australian to make the New Haven showpiece.

Dominika Cibulkova had previously only reached the quarterfinals, going down in the last eight to Lucie Safarova in 2015 as well as Caroline Wozniacki three years before.

Daria Gavrilova has dropped just one set en route to the final, beating one seed. Dominika Cibulkova has also dropped one set, having started her New Haven campaign a round later than Gavrilova. The Slovakian has also beaten one seed to make the showpiece.

Dominika Cibulkova is the first Slovakian to make the New Haven final since Magdalena Rybarikova in 2014. Her compatriot lost in straight sets to Petra Kvitova three years ago.

The last 11 women's doubles finals at New Haven have been won in straight sets - the last showpiece to go to a decider was in 2005, as Lisa Raymond and Sam Stosur beat Gisela Dulko and Maria Kirilenko 6-2, 6-7, 6-1.