Simona Halep has won the Jerry Diamond ACES Award for her work in bringing tennis to new communities throughout 2016.
WTA Staff

SINGAPORE - Simona Halep has won the Jerry Diamond ACES Award for 2016.

The Diamond ACES Award was first introduced in 1995, in memory of former WTA CEO Jerry Diamond. The award is presented to the player who consistently goes above and beyond in promoting the sport of women's tennis to fans, media, and local communities by performing off-court promotional and charitable activities.

The Romanian has earned the ACES award for the first time in her career, having participated in numerous kids' clinics throughout the globe, charitable activities such as the Charity Day Clinic in Madrid, as well as fan-friendly events, including the Sydney Festival, to help bring the game closer to the community. 

WTA Diamond Aces Award Winners
2016: Simona Halep
2015: Caroline Wozniacki
2014: Petra Kvitova
2013: Victoria Azarenka
2012: Victoria Azarenka
2011: Caroline Wozniacki
2010: Samantha Stosur
2009: Elena Dementieva
2008: Ana Ivanovic
2007: Jelena Jankovic
2006: Svetlana Kuznetsova

Complete listing of the historical WTA Awards.